MotoGP »

250: Simoncelli fined.

Newly crowned 250cc world champion Marco Simoncelli was fined after his title victory in Sunday's Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang, for not wearing his helmet on the slow down lap.

"On Sunday 19th October, at the end of the 250cc race, rider Marco Simoncelli (ITA) has removed his safety helmet before returning to the pit lane, which is an infringement to the notice of the Race Direction published on May 15th, 2008: "...After the chequered flag, riders riding on the track must wear their safety helmet until they stop in the pit lane / parc fermé". The Race Direction has thus decided to penalise the rider with a fine of USD 1,000," said an FIM statement.

Prior to the May 15th amendment, MotoGP riders such as Nicky Hayden had been known to ride back to the pits without wearing their helmet after victory.

There was no fine for 125cc Sepang race winner Gabor Talmacsi, who picked up a passenger (no helmet) for part of his slow down lap.


Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simoncelli, Malaysian 250GP Race 2008
KTM pit crew helmets, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Brad Binder, helmet, Qatar Moto2 2017
KTM pit crew helmets, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Mechanic`s helmets, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Mechanic`s helmets, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rins, helmet, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rins, helmet, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rins, helmet, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rins, helmet, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rins, helmet, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Paolo Simoncelli, Jerez Moto3 test 8-10 March 2017
McPhee, Helmet, Jerez Moto3 test 8-10 March 2017
Marquez, Sepang MotoGP test, February 2017
Marquez, Sepang MotoGP test, February 2017
Marquez, Sepang MotoGP test, February 2017
Baz, Sepang MotoGP test, February 2017
Baz, Sepang MotoGP test, February 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


JeffS - Unregistered

October 20, 2008 7:54 PM

It's pretty obvious that the rule breaking was referred to the idiot FI stewards in China for guidance in how to screw up at every opportunity. If he was prepared to take the risk, why spoil the occasion? - he'd just won the World Championship for God's sake. Congratulations Marco.



© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.