recently asked for your MotoGP star of 2008, from a shortlist of ten riders provided, and - with voting having now closed - the time has come to reveal the results.

During the next ten weekdays, we will be revealing the voting results in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Wednesday December 3.

More than 54,000 votes were cast for the MotoGP poll. The average score given for each rider was used to produce the final ranking.

MotoGP Star of the Year - fourth place:

Name: Andrea Dovizioso Team: JiR Team Scot Bike: Honda RC212V Wins: 0 Podiums: 1 Pole Positions: 0 Fastest laps: 0 Championship points: 174 Championship position: 5th

Andrea Dovizioso finished his first MotoGP season just 16 points behind top rookie Jorge Lorenzo, while fifth position in the world championship standings made him the top satellite rider.

While Lorenzo experienced massive highs and lows during his first premier-class season, former 250GP title rival Dovizioso delivered an impressive mix of mistake-free speed and consistency - just as he had done in the lower classes.

Dovizioso scored points in all but one round for JiR Team Scot and thoroughly deserved his debut podium at Sepang.

Dovizioso's impressive achievements with a valve-spring Michelin-shod RCV have been rewarded with a factory Repsol Honda ride for 2009, while you ranked him fourth in's MotoGP star of the year poll.

4th - Andrea Dovizioso 5th - Nicky Hayden 6th - Dani Pedrosa 7th - James Toseland 8th - Colin Edwards 9th - Toni Elias 10th - Alex de Angelis

On Monday: We reach number three in the MotoGP Star of the Year poll.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment