MotoGP »

MotoGP entry list revealed.

The FIM has published the official entry list for the 2009 MotoGP season, which will feature 19 riders.

The main addition to the 2008 line-up is the return of Sete Gibernau, who will ride a privateer Ducati under the banner of Grupo Francisco Hernando, as announced during the final round of the season at Valencia.

Other changes for 2009 include Andrea Dovizioso's move to the factory Honda team, which has avoided the fate of Honda's Formula One team to return for the new season, while Nicky Hayden moves over to Ducati to partner Casey Stoner.

Elsewhere, Pramac Racing - whose 2008 title sponsor Alice is not mentioned - brings in Niccolo Canepa and Mika Kallio for 2009, with former Pramac rider Toni Elias moving to the San Carlo Honda Gresini team to partner Alex de Angelis.

Marco Melandri will ride with Kawasaki after his ill-fated stint with Ducati in 2008, while the Scot Racing team will hope that Yuki Takahashi can continue to bring home the kind of results achieved by Dovizioso last year in his debut season.

Outside of the team changes and new arrivals, there is confirmation that 2008 Rookie of the Year Jorge Lorenzo will switch from the #48 to the #99 next season, while countryman Dani Pedrosa changes from #2 to #3 - reflecting his new championship position. Former world champion Casey Stoner moves from #1 back to #27.

2009 MotoGP entry list:

3. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Respol Honda Team
5. Colin Edwards USA Tech 3 Yamaha
7. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
14. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP
15. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini
21. John Hopkins USA Kawasaki Racing Team
24. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini
27. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team
33. Marco Melandri ITA Kawasaki Racing Team
36. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing
46. Valentino Rossi ITA FIAT Yamaha Team
52. James Toseland GBR Tech 3 Yamaha
59. Sete Gibernau SPA Grupo Francisco Hernando
65. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
69. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team
72. Yuki Takahashi JPN Scot Racing Team MotoGP
88. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pramac Racing
99. Jorge Lorenzo SPA FIAT Yamaha Team

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pedrosa, Race Start, Malaysian MotoGP Race 2008
Crutchlow, Miller, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Pertrucci, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Redding, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Aleix Espargaro, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Petrucci, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Baz, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Bautista, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Sam Lowes, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Folger, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Pedrosa, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Sandracer 17

December 16, 2008 11:06 PM

Last season, I can only think of one motogp race that really had me on the edge of my seat - Laguna. But when I think of the WSBK season, there were many races that had me bouncing up and down. I don't really care if the Motogp bikes go a little bit faster, for me, the thrill is to watch bikes going hammer and tongs and swapping places on a regular basis!!

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.