MotoGP »

BBC confirms MotoGP commentary team.

The BBC has confirmed that its MotoGP commentary team will remain unchanged for the 2009 season.

With Eurosport's long broadcasting agreement with MotoGP having come to an unpopular end last season, there had been speculation that some of the British Eurosport team - consisting of Toby Moody, Julian Ryder and Randy Mamola - might have joined the BBC for 2009, when it will become the exclusive MotoGP broadcaster on British television.

However, the BBC has decided to keep its existing line-up intact.

"Suzi Perry will be presenting with commentary coming from Steve Parrish and Charlie Cox and pit lane reports from Matt Roberts," said a report on the BBC website.

The BBC's exclusive deal has generated concern from fans regarding the amount of track action it will broadcast at each MotoGP weekend, compared with Eurosport's extensive coverage, particularly with the corporation also acquiring the rights to Formula One from this season.

The report stated that "Schedule times, channels and services will be provided for each [MotoGP] event in due course," but it seems that the MotoGP races will be shown live on BBC2, with qualifying and the 125/250cc races available via the 'Red Button' option for those with digital TV. No practice action is expected to be shown.

"The BBC Red Button will allow viewers to watch qualifying, then the 125cc and 250cc races and all the post-race reaction and interviews on MotoGP Extra," said the report.

"All the action will also be available on the BBC Sport website (UK users only) so you can watch the races if you cannot get to a TV.

"Or if you missed the race or simply just want to watch it again you can do so on our iPlayer service for seven days after it has happened."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
BBC camera, German MotoGP 2008
Canet, Dutch Moto3 2017
Canet, Dutch Moto3 2017
Loi, Dutch Moto3 2017
Oettl, Dutch Moto3 2017
McPhee, Dutch Moto3 2017
Fenati, Dutch Moto3 2017
Mir, Dutch Moto3 2017
Fenati, Dutch Moto3 2017
Martin, Dutch Moto3 2017
Mir, Dutch Moto3 2017
VD Lagemaat, Dutch Moto3 2017
Suzuki, Dutch Moto3 2017
Martin, Dutch Moto3 2017
Danilo, Dutch Moto3 2017
Loi, Dutch Moto3 2017
Mir, Dutch Moto3 2017
Toba, Dutch Moto3 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Mike - Unregistered

January 19, 2009 5:05 AM

With no disrespect to the BBC folk, I''m bummed that the Eurosport team won''t be around. Many thanks Toby, Julian, and Randy - I always enjoyed your commentary. Another cash-grab from Dorna... do they ever think of the fans?

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.