Crash.Net MotoGP News

125: Terol takes comeback win at Mugello

3 July 2011

Nico Terol's race tactics may have been called into question in the past, but the Spaniard executed a last-gasp pass to perfection for a comeback win in Sunday's 125cc Italian Grand prix at Mugello.

The world championship leader - who sat out last weekend's Assen round due to a finger injury - shot from fifth to first at turn one and was joined by debut pole sitter Johann Zarco soon after.

The pair then broke away from the rest of the field, pulling eight-seconds clear by the halfway point of the 20 laps. Terol let Zarco into the lead and the Spaniard studied the Frenchman right until the exit of the final turn.

Zarco then pulled calmly out of Zarco's slipstream and won his fifth race of the season by 0.167sec.

The move ended Zarco's hopes of revenge, after being stripped of what would have been a first grand prix victory for an aggressive pass on Terol at the final turn in Catalunya.

Terol began the race with a 27-point lead over nearest rival Jonas Folger and is now 39 clear of Zarco after eight rounds.

Behind the leading pair, rookie double race-winner Maverick Vinales battled Terol's Aspar Aprilia team-mate Sergio Gadea and Zarco's Ajo Derbi team-mate Efren Vasquez for third place for much of the race.

The Paris Hilton Aprilia rider won that battle by just 0.112sec over Vasquez.

Sandro Cortese was given a post-race ride-through penalty (+20 seconds) for an 'illegal manoeuvre' - the same punishment Zarco received at Catalunya - for squeezing another rider on the run to the line. The German dropped from eighth to twelfth as a result.

Red Bull Ajo rider Folger had qualified just 21st on the grid in the rain-shortened qualifying, but charged through the field to reach ninth before crashing with three laps to go.

Race results - Mugello:

1. Terol 20 laps
2. Zarco (Derbi) +0.167s
3. Vinales (Aprilia) +8.379s
4. Vazquez (Derbi) +8.491s
5. Faubel (Aprilia) +8.594s
6. Salom (Aprilia) +22.908s
7. Gadea (Aprilia) +23.989s
8. Oliveira (Aprilia) +40.138s
9. Moncayo (Aprilia) +40.767s
10. Kornfeil (Aprilia) +41.198s

15. Kent (Aprilia) +49.725s
17. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +1m 0.227s
Stafford (Aprilia) DNF
Webb (Mahindra) DNF