Crash.Net MotoGP News

250: Bautista floors Lorenzo, takes debut win

3 June 2007

Reigning 125cc world champion Alvaro Bautista has taken his first 250cc win under dramatic circumstances at Mugello; the Spaniard sending reigning champion Jorge Lorenzo to the ground on the last lap, then stealing a last gasp victory from team-mate Alex de Angelis.

Lorenzo, despite a frightening near-miss with KTM's Mika Kallio, carved his way quickly up from 20th on the grid - after being caught out by the qualifying rain - to be in touch with pole sitter Bautista, home hero Andrea Dovizioso, de Angelis and Hector Barbera by lap 5 of 21.

The #1 then took his time to infiltrate the lead group, briefly taking the lead on lap 11 from countryman Barbera. The Team Toth rider quickly retaliated, but suffered a near highside soon after, dropping him to the tail of the group and ending his victory hopes.

But Lorenzo soon found other rivals to fill the void, as fist-waving Aspar Aprilia team-mates Bautista and de Angelis put their personal dispute temporarily on hold to pass Jorge with five laps to go, while fourth-placed Dovizioso dropped away on his underpowered Honda.

Lorenzo, Bautista and de Angelis remained nose-to-tail during the closing stages, with de Angelis taking the lead from Lorenzo into turn one on the last lap. Bautista lunged at Lorenzo soon after, but clipped his fellow Spaniard in the process - sending the winner of four of the opening five races off track and tumbling to the ground as he lost control of his Aprilia.

Bautista remained unphased and hunted down de Angelis, pulling alongside the San Marino rider through the final turn before winning a drag race to the line by just 0.087secs. Barbera beat Dovizioso to claim the final podium position while Lorenzo remounted to finish eighth.

Race results – Mugello:

1. Bautista (Aprilia)
2. de Angelis (Aprilia) +0.087secs
3. Barbera (Aprilia) +7.665secs
4. Dovizioso (Honda) +7.751secs
5. Luthi (Aprilia) +27.267secs
6. S. Aoyama (Honda) +27.522secs
7. Simon (Honda) +27.774secs
8. Lorenzo (Aprilia) +32.238secs
9. Simoncelli (Gilera) +51.455secs
10. West (Aprilia) +1min 4.308secs

20. Laverty (Honda) +1min 21.282secs