MotoGP »

250: Aoyama takes Jerez victory.

Hiroshi Aoyama won a thrilling 250cc Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez with a smart last turn re-pass on home hero Alvaro Bautista.

Alex Debon initially held his pole position into turn one, but was soon displaced by Marco Simoncelli, Bautista, Hector Barbera and Aoyama - who fought tooth-and-nail for most of the race.

Simoncelli, Bautista and Aoyama exchanged the lead on countless occasions - Bautista appeared the fastest, but reigning champion Simoncelli refused to give in and Scot Honda star Aoyama was unusually combative, while Barbera was poised to mop up any casualties in a close fourth.

The group was finally split in half when Simoncelli made a small mistake with four laps to go, handing Barbera third position, while Aoyama shadowed Bautista until the final lap - when he dived inside the Aspar Aprilia rider into the stadium section with just a few corners to go.

Bautista was forced to try a last turn move, but Aoyama calmly let the Spaniard charge through on a tight inside line, before blasting past him on the exit and riding to his first Honda victory since 2005.

Aoyama, who won four 250GPs as a factory KTM rider from 2006-2008, has now taken the world championship lead from Bautista by four points.

Meanwhile, Simoncelli retook Barbera to claim his first podium - and points - of the 2009 season, but is already 42 points behind Aoyama.

Debon crashed out of sixth on lap ten.

Race results - Jerez:

1. Aoyama (Honda)
2. Bautista (Aprilia) +0.132sec
3. Simoncelli (Gilera) +2.706sec
4. Barbera (Aprilia) +2.769sec
5. Luthi (Aprilia) +17.946sec
6. Pasini (Aprilia) +17.950sec
7. Talmacsi (Aprilia) +26.288sec
8. Cluzel (Aprilia) +26.472sec
9. Locatelli (Gilera) +27.646sec
10. de Rosa (Honda) +32.369sec

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Aoyama wins. Spanish 250GP race 2009
Bautista, Aoyama, Spanish 250GP Race 2009
Aoyama, Bautista, Simoncelli, Barbera, Spanish 250GP Race 2009
Nakagami, Oliveira, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Edgar Pons, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Isaac Vinales, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Schrotter, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Cortese, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Quartararo, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Pawi, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Isaac Vinales, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Quartararo, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Aegerter, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Kent, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Luthi, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Morbidelli, Luthi, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Morbidelli leads start, Moto2 race, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Vinales overtakes Dovizioso, Qatar MotoGP Race 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.