MotoGP »

250: Bautista takes victory in Catalunya.

Alvaro Bautista has become the first double winner of the 2009 250cc season, with home victory at round six in Catalunya - a race that saw reigning world champion Marco Simoncelli crash out.

Tensions had been running high before the race following Simoncelli and Bautista's clash last time out at Mugello, which ended with Simoncelli being given a suspended ban.

That decision left Simoncelli furious at what he felt were double standards while Bautista's camp were unhappy that the Italian was allowed to keep his place ahead of the Spaniard in the race results.

Against that backdrop, and with the Spanish crowd booing Simoncelli at every opportunity, the race began with pole sitter Hector Barbera holding his advantage into turn one - but with Bautista and Simoncelli first and second by lap 3 of 23.

Moments after taking second, Simoncelli lost the front of his Metis Gilera through the left hander at the end of the back straight and slid into the gravel - prompting deafening applause and jeers from the partisan fans. The Italian rejoined 25th and last, then retired several laps later. Simoncelli has now failed to score in three of the six rounds.

With his arch-rival out, world championship leader Bautista edged slightly away from Barbera with every passing lap to hold a 2.4sec advantage over the Pepe World Aprilia rider and Mugello winner Mattia Pasini by the midway point.

Bautista, winner of round two at Motegi, went on to claim his first win in Spain since joining the 250cc class in 2007 by 7.185sec, extending his title lead to 12 points in the process.

Second place went to Bautista's nearest title rival Hiroshi Aoyama, who seemed to overcome some kind of technical problem before charging spectacularly forwards in the closing stages.

The Scot Honda rider snatched third from Pasini with three laps to go, then levered Barbera out of second at the end of the back straight on the very last lap.

Simoncelli has now dropped 47 points behind Bautista.

Race results - Catalunya:

1. Bautista (Aprilia)
2. Aoyama (Honda) +7.185sec
3. Barbera (Aprilia) +7.282sec
4. Pasini (Aprilia) +10.784sec
5. Debon (Aprilia) +15.740sec
6. Luthi (Aprilia) +15.780sec
7. Wilairot (Honda) +28.654sec
8. Abraham (Aprilia) +31.600sec
9. de Rosa (Honda) +33.760sec
10. Faubel (Honda) +33.843sec

21. Markham (Honda) +1 lap

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bautista, Catalunya 250GP 2009
Kent, Wins, British Moto3 Race 2015
Kent, Wins, British Moto3 Race 2015
Rossi, Wins, British MotoGP Race 2015
Hayden, Bautista British MotoGP Race 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP Race 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP Race 2015
Zarco, wins, British Moto2 race 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP 2015
Hayden, Bautista British MotoGP 2015
Hayden, Bautista, Bradl, Vinales, British MotoGP 2015
Bautista, Bradl, di Meglio British MotoGP 2015
Zarco, wins, British Moto2 race 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP 2015
Bautista, Braking, British MotoGP 2015
Bautista, British MotoGP 2015

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.