MotoGP »

125: Marquez wins at Mugello

Marc Marquez has taken his first ever grand prix victory by just 0.039sec, as the top four riders in Sunday's 125cc Italian Grand Prix at Mugello crossed the line within 0.161sec.

Title leaders Nico Terol and Pol Espargaro made an early break, but were caught after eight laps by Marquez and Bradley Smith - with the top four riders then seesawing back and forth until the end of the race.

The 20th and last lap began with the Ajo Derbi of Marquez leading the Tuenti Derbi of Espargaro, followed by the Aspar Aprilias of Terol and Smith.

Terol then got the better of Espargaro, but Marquez clung doggedly to the lead and was just able to avoid being mugged during the long run to the line. 2010 is Marquez's third year in grand prix racing.

Terol remained closest to his fellow Spaniard - as consecutive Spanish wins in the 125cc class reached 14 - and has increased his title lead slightly to six points over Espargaro, who had won the last two races.

Marquez is third, but 28 points from the top after crashing out at Jerez.

2009 Mugello winner Smith, without a podium in the first three rounds of this season, led significant parts of the race but was left fourth at the flag.

Smith has suffered from a lack of outright performance from the machinery in the opening rounds and he later indicated that had once again been a factor in the race.

Pole sitter Sandro Cortese crashed from the lead group on lap two, and then fell again later in the race, ending his day.

Race results - Mugello:

1. Marquez (Derbi) 20 laps
2. Terol (Aprilia) +0.039s
3. Espargaro (Derbi) +0.116s
4. Smith (Aprilia) +0.161s
5. Vazquez (Derbi) +10.281s
6. Krummenacher (Aprilia) +10.364s
7. Rabat (Aprilia) +10.562s
8. Koyama (Aprilia) +36.341s
9. Zarco (Aprilia) +36.411s
10. Webb (Aprilia) +36.730s

Tagged as: Jerez , Mugello , 125 , Marquez

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marquez, 125 race Italian GP 2010
Marquez, Rossi Aragon MotoGP Race 2016
Marquez, Rossi Aragon MotoGP Race 2016
Rossi, Marquez Aragon MotoGP Race 2016
Maverick Vinales, Rossi, Marquez Aragon MotoGP Race 2016
Marquez, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Marquez, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Marquez, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Marquez, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Marquez, Rossi Aragon MotoGP 2016
Marquez fans, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Vinales, Rossi, Marquez, Lorenzo Aragon MotoGP 2016
Lorenzo, Rossi, Dovizioso, Marquez Aragon MotoGP 2016
Alex Marquez, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016
Alex Marquez, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016
Alex Marquez, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016
Alex Marquez, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016
Alex Marquez, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


June 06, 2010 12:59 PM

Great ride and congratulations to Marquez. Bradley will be disappointed to finish at the back of the front group again, but it shows an improvement in competitiveness. Although his bike looked to be the slowest by some margin, he still got a new lap record with a time three tenths faster than the pole!

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.