Andrea Iannone proved his shock first Moto2 pole was no fluke by flattening the opposition to claim his first victory in the new 600cc class, in front of his home fans at Mugello.

0.7sec clear of the field at the end of lap one, the Fimmco Speed Up (FTR) rider set a merciless pace up front to build a seven-second lead, before monitoring his advantage to secure a 2.764sec victory at the chequered flag.

It was the first time ever that a Moto2 race has been won from pole.

Prior to Mugello, Iannone's only 2010 points had been for fourth place at the previous Le Mans round. The four-time 125cc winner has now risen from eleventh to fifth in the standings.

In complete contrast to the Iannone walkover, the fight for second was a typically close Moto2 battle, with over ten riders in contention for the runner-up spot during the first half of the race.

Iannone's team-mate Gabor Talmacsi, title leader Toni Elias, Pons Kalex rider Sergio Gadea, former 125cc world champion Thomas Luthi and Le Mans podium finisher Simone Corsi all took turns to lead the group.

Five riders - Luthi, Corsi, Gadea, Shoya Tomizawa and Elias - remained in contention for second place heading into the closing stages, and the last lap began with Corsi leading Elias, Gadea, Luthi and Tomizawa.

Gadea later outbraked Corsi into a right hander, who returned the favour with a lunge inside at the final turn - but Gadea got a better exit and denied the home fans an Italian one-two by just 0.035sec, with Luthi a mere 0.015sec further back in fourth. Gadea's second place marks the first Moto2 podium for the Pons Kalex chassis

Elias, winner of the last two races, could only manage fifth - but he kept nearest title rival Tomizawa just behind him and has thus increased his title lead from 18 to 19 points over the Japanese.

Fast but erratic Frenchman Jules Cluzel highsided out of second place on lap four while American Kenny Noyes, on pole at Le Mans, began the race in 33rd and finished 26th.

Race results - Mugello:

1. Iannone (Speed Up) 21 laps
2. Gadea (Pons Kalex) +2.764s
3. Corsi (Motobi) +2.799s
4. Luthi (Moriwaki) +2.814s
5. Elias (Moriwaki) +3.404s
6. Tomizawa (Suter) +3.826s
7. Talmacsi (Speed Up) +7.209s
8. Takahashi (Tech 3) +8.377s
9. Simon (Suter) +8.584s
10. Debon (FTR) +8.931s

21. Redding (Suter) +37.770s


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment