MotoGP »

125: Terol takes victory in Qatar

Nico Terol wins the season-opening Qatar 125cc Grand Prix.
Nico Terol has won the first motorcycle grand prix of the 2011 season after totally dominating the 125cc race at Qatar on Sunday night.

The new three-riders per row format made for a noticeably less hectic first turn, with Terol, Sandro Cortese and Efren Vasquez all maintaining their grid positions.

Terol - who had enjoyed a huge advantage over his rivals for much of the weekend - began to pull clear as early as lap 2 of 18, while team-mate Hector Faubel worked his way past Vasquez and Cortese.

Once into second, former Moto2 rider Faubel faced a near two-second gap to Terol. But Terol's pace was simply too high and Terol instead fell victim to counter attacks from Cortese and Vasquez.

By the halfway point Terol, second in last year's world championship to Marc Marquez, had built a 11.036sec lead.

His advantage eventually peaked at over 14-seconds before settling at 7.710sec by the chequered flag. The crushing win was Terol's second Qatar victory in a row.

The battle for second was far more competitive with Cortese, Faubel and Vasquez being joined by Jonas Folger and Sergio Gadea for the second half of the race.

Faubel then dropped out of contention after a mechanical glitch on lap 14, leaving him to nurse his sick Aprilia to the finish in eleventh, while the final lap began with Cortese, Vasquez, Gadea and Folger covered by 1.3sec.

Cortese kept just out of reach to collect second for Racing Team Germany, while Paris Hilton-backed Gadea - back in 125 after a season in Moto2 - got the better of AirAsia Ajo Derbi's Vasquez by 0.367sec.

Folger was even closer to Vasquez in fifth for Red Bull Ajo Aprilia.

Qatar was the first race of the final 125cc season, with the new Moto3 four-stroke class beginning in 2012.

Race results - Qatar:

1. Terol (Aprilia) 18 laps
2. Cortese (Aprilia) +7.710s
3. Gadea (Aprilia) +9.147s
4. Vasquez (Derbi) +9.514s
5. Folger (Aprilia) +9.698s
6. Zarco (Derbi) +15.260s
7. Moncayo (Aprilia) +15.352s
8. Salom (Aprilia) +15.696s
9. Vinales (Aprilia) +15.910s
10. Oliveira (Aprilia) +27.396s

13. Kent (Aprilia) +44.001s
16. Webb (Mahindra) +50.424s
18. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +1m 2.931s
25. Stafford (Aprilia) +1m 30.798s

Tagged as: 125 , Qatar , Nico Terol

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Cortese, Terol and Gadea, Qatar 125GP 2011
Terol, Moto2, Catalunya MotoGP 2016
Crutchlow crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Guevara crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Guevara crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Edgar Pons crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Simon, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Lorenzo leads start, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Vierge crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Baz crash, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2016
Masbou, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016
Norrodin, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016
Kornfeil, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016
Bagnaia, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016
Ono, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016
Quartararo, Qatar Moto3 Race 2016

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.