Marc Marquez destroyed Stefan Bradl's Moto2 World Championship lead by winning arguably the race of the season at Aragon on Sunday.

The grand prix began with a stunning opening lap that saw Marquez, Scott Redding and Bradl slicing back and forth in thrilling fashion - and the action only got better.

Countless lead changes followed and by the midway stage the front group consisted of no less than nine riders, attacking each other at virtually every turn.

Related Articles

Marquez, Redding, Bradl, Andrea Iannone and Simone Corsi all took turns at the front, with Marquez taking the lead for the final time - from Iannone - on lap 14 of 22.

Reigning 125cc world champion Marquez, knocked off at the first turn of last year's inaugural race, finally gained breathing room when Iannone almost hit his rear wheel at the same corner on the following lap.

Marquez made the most of the opportunity and exploited the new upgrades for his Repsol Suter to the maximum as he rode to a 2.466sec victory.

And just as Marquez was pulling away to his seventh win of the season, Bradl was plummeting backwards.

The Viessmann Kiefer rider had looked every bit a match for Marquez in the first part of the race, but began suffering in the closing stages and slipped all the way down to eighth at the chequered flag with apparent rear tyre problems.

The result means that the German, now beaten by Marquez in the last seven rounds, has seen a 23-point lead over Marquez shrink to just 6 with four rounds remaining.

While Marquez broke away, Corsi, Iannone and Alex de Angelis fought for the remaining podium places until the very end of the race, where Speed master (Suter) rider Iannone held off fellow Italian Corsi (FTR) by just 0.108sec.

de Angelis (MotoBI) was less than half a second from the podium, with Pons Kalex rider Aleix Espargaro leading a massive 13-rider train for fifth place.

Tech 3's Bradley Smith worked hard to rise from 15th on the grid to sixth, while fellow Briton Redding went in the other direction, dropping to 15th for Marc VDS after his early race heroics.

Lady racer Elena Rosell finished her first grand prix race in 33rd and last for Aspar Suter.

Race results:

1. Marquez (Suter) 22 laps
2. Iannone (Suter) +2.466s
3. Corsi (FTR) +2.574s
4. de Angelis (MotoBI) +3.054s
5. A. Espargaro (Pons Kalex) +10.831s
6. Smith (Tech 3) +10.870s
7. Luthi (Suter) +11.005s
8. Bradl (Kalex) +11.212s
9. Aegerter (Suter) +11.810s
10. Kallio (Suter) +11.939s

15. Redding (Suter) +13.329s