MotoGP »

Lorenzo takes crucial victory at Misano

Sporting a special helmet fearing a cartoon image of Rossi as a bruised boxer on the ropes, Rossi used his new chassis and swingarm to keep a slight buffer over Bautista.

Rossi finished 4.3s from Lorenzo and 1.6s ahead of Bautista, then headed straight to the fans to celebrate.

Bautista had been overtaken by Andrea Dovizioso into the final turn, but got a better exit and claimed his first MotoGP rostrum by just 0.003s.

Dovizioso's Tech 3 Yamaha team-mate Cal Crutchlow, who began the race from the front row, was third into the first chicane - then passed by Bradl and later Dovizioso before crashing out on lap 5 of 27.

Having held third for much of the race, Bradl dropped down the order to sixth, Lorenzo's team-mate Ben Spies also overtaking the Honda LCR rider.

Rossi's team-mate Nicky Hayden finished seventh on his return from injury, with Jonathan Rea two-seconds behind the American on his MotoGP debut.

World Superbike star Rea, replacing the injured Casey Stoner at Repsol Honda, began the race in ninth place - and had lost out more than most due to the damp free practice sessions.

Rea is all but certain to get another race outing at Aragon.

Aspar Aprilia's Randy de Puniet was forced to take avoiding action in the Barbera/Pedrosa clash, but reached ninth and top CRT rider by the finish.

Gresini CRT rider Michele Pirro took tenth in his home race, followed by Colin Edwards (Forward Racing).

Yonny Hernandez (Avintia), James Ellison (PBM), Danilo Petrucci - making his Suter-BMW debut for Ioda - and David Salom (Avintia) were the final riders to reach the flag. It was Salom's first race as a replacement for Ivan Silva.

Abraham's bike suffered another problem on the restart.

All 21 riders began the race with the harder Bridgestone front tyre and softer rear.

Round 14 of 18 will be held at Aragon, Spain on September 28-30.

San Marino Grand Prix:

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Valentino Rossi
3. Alvaro Bautista
4. Andrea Dovizioso
5. Ben Spies
6. Stefan Bradl
7. Nicky Hayden
8. Jonathan Rea
9. Randy De Puniet
10. Michele Pirro
11. Colin Edwards
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. James Ellison
14. Danilo Petrucci
15. David Salom

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lorenzo, San Marino MotoGP 2012
Rossi and Lorenzo, San Marino MotoGP 2012
Jorge Lorenzo to race in Gulf 12 Hours (pic:
Pol Espargaro attends Asean Cup race at Indonesia`s Sentul circuit (pic: Tech 3)
Repsol chairman Antonio Brufau with Marc and Alex Marquez (pic: Repsol)
Valentino Rossi at 2014 Monza Rally (Pic: Cristiano Bami)
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Melandri, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Bautista, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Bautista, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Barbera, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Dovizioso, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Bautista, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Barbera, Dovizioso Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Dovizioso and Barbera, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


September 16, 2012 2:38 PM
Last Edited 829 days ago

Rossi 2nd in Italy on and Itlaian bike not far from his home town at the circuit named after his late friend Marco Simoncelli & Bautista 3rd for Marco's old team... I do love positive emotions of motorbike racing, what a great sport!

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.