By Lisa Lewis

Danny Kent took a last corner victory over Red Bull KTM Ajo team-mate Sandro Cortese in the season-closing Moto3 race at Valencia's Ricardo Tormo circuit on Sunday.

It is Kent's second win of the season after scoring his maiden victory at Motegi and moved him up to fourth in the world championship standings.

Related Articles

In his final race before moving up to Moto2, the Brit took Cortese by surprise, saying in parc ferme he had felt strong on the last corner all race, and despite the German's efforts to slipstream back in front, took the win by 0.056s.

World champion Cortese had a careful start and had pushed to the front of a pack of riders who were all close enough to be in with a shout at the podium, after having lead for most of the race he was annoyed with himself for getting passed at the line, but described his title winning season as 'perfect'.

Cortese's second place is his 15th podium of the year - a new record - beating that set by Alvaro Bautista in his championship winning year and equalled by Nico Terol when he was second to Marquez in 2010.

Zulfahmi Khairuddin had qualified down in 17th on the Air Asia sponsored KTM Ajo and after a careful start he started to move up through the order, then took a "big risk" to pass Brad Binder's Kalex KTM RW Racing bike.

He apologised for pushing the South African into fourth and added he was "really happy to be on the podium". The Malaysian riders final lap was the fastest of the race.

Hector Faubel threw his chance of a podium away on his stand-in ride for the JHK Laglisse team when he ran wide on the final lap at the Doohan corner, crossing the line fifth, the highest finishing FTR Honda.

Louis Rossi, riding for Racing Team Germany, who won in the wet at his home race in Le Mans, again showed a strong wet pace in his final Moto3 race and finished in sixth. Jakub Kornfeil was seventh for Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta.

Luis Salom's RW Racing Kalex KTM stormed into an early lead and looked in control on the damp track, but the pack battled back and he ended up in a race-long battle with Maverick Vinales.

Vinales was cautious in the wet and brought the Blusens Avintia FTR Honda home in eighth - not enough to stop tenth place Salom finishing second in the final championship standings.

Nicklas Ajo finished between the pair in ninth for the TT Motion events team.

Wild-card riders Philip Oettl (HP Kalex KTM Moto) and Juan Fransisco Guevara (Wild Wolf BST) both had points finishes in 11th and 12th respectively.

The battle for rookie of the year played out further down the order with Alex Rins taking the honours on the Estrella Gallicia finishing 16th while Team Italia FMI's Romano Fenati was 18th.

There was drama before the race got started when pole-sitter Jonas Folger had electrical issues with his Mapfre Aspar bike on the sighting lap, eventually starting from pit lane only for his bike to fail again with 17 laps remaining.

John McPhee slid out at the Nieto corner from 13th on the Caretta Technology KRP Honda, Danny Webb also failed to finish for Mahindra.

Alex Marquez, recently crowned Spanish Moto3 champion, crashed out shortly after taking the lead for Ambrogio Next racing.

Efren Vazquez took out his future team-mate at Mahindra, Miguel Oliveira with eight laps to go, while the pair were holding second and third.