CLICK HERE to view Race Results for the 2014 MotoGP of Argentina.

Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez has become the first rider since Giacomo Agostini in 1971 to win the first three premier class races of the season from pole position in Argentina.

Defending MotoGP world champion Marquez played a waiting game behind long time race leader Jorge Lorenzo before making his move with eight laps remaining, effortlessly pulling away on the RC213V to win by 1.827 seconds in the end from team-mate Dani Pedrosa, who relentlessly reeled in Lorenzo before snatching second on the penultimate lap.

Valentino Rossi finished a gallant fourth on the Movistar Yamaha at the Termas de Rio Hondo circuit after coming off worse during a frantic series of overtaking moves on the frantic opening laps, with LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl and Andrea Iannone on the Pramac Ducati completing the top six.

Bradley Smith finished seventh ahead of his Yamaha Tech 3 team-mate Pol Espargaro.

Lorenzo made a blistering start to take the lead from Iannone, who powered through into second place from the third row, with Pedrosa, Rossi, Marquez and Dovizioso next.

On a hectic first lap, Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista and Danilo Petrucci on the Ioda ART both went down in separate incidents at Turn 5, while a fierce battle raged at the front, with Pedrosa taking the lead after a mistake by Lorenzo.

Rossi was up to second after Iannone ran wide and then briefly led from Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso - who took advantage of the frantic skirmishes to slot into second - until he was squeezed out, falling back to fourth at the end of the lap behind Lorenzo, Dovi and Iannone with Pedrosa now fifth.

NGM Forward Yamaha's Aleix Espargaro slid off at the beginning of lap two but re-joined the race and fought back to take a hard-earned point in 15th place.

Lorenzo was leading the way as Marquez passed Pedrosa to move into sixth place, while Iannone went second on lap three as he dived underneath Dovizioso on the brakes. Rossi, Bradl, Marquez and Pedrosa were in hot pursuit.

By lap four, Rossi has forced his way into second place ahead of Ducati pair Dovizioso and Iannone as Marquez continued to make up ground, flashing across the line in fourth.

Lorenzo had established a lead of one second, while Rossi began to lose ground after running wide as Marquez picked off the Yamaha rider and took up the running behind Lorenzo with a move on Iannone.

Rossi was unable to get into a rhythm and was forced off the track when Bradl went up his inside on lap five to take fourth. Pedrosa and Dovizioso capitalised to demote Rossi to seventh, one place ahead of Pol Espargaro on the Yamaha Tech 3 M1.

Marquez began to hunt down Lorenzo and quickly reduced the deficit to half a second as Iannone held third ahead of Bradl and Pedrosa.

The front two were pulling away but Marquez seemed content to sit on Lorenzo's rear wheel and it soon became clear he was simply biding his time.

Pedrosa, meanwhile, had hit his stride on the RC213V, passing Bradl and Iannone for third place as Rossi began to gain ground again.

Bradley Smith was up to seventh with a pass on Dovizioso at Turn 8 and quickly put some daylight between himself and the Ducati rider.

With eight laps remaining, Marquez made the inevitable pass on Lorenzo at Turn 5 and within a few corners had opened up a few tenths, denying the Movistar Yamaha rider any chance of hitting straight back.

Marquez eased into a two-second lead and Lorenzo soon looked under threat from Pedrosa, who was beginning to slash his advantage. Rossi, meanwhile, was now safe in fourth ahead of Bradl, Iannone, Smith and Dovizioso.

Barring a mistake, Marquez's third successive win of the season was now a formality but Pedrosa was catching Lorenzo, who saw a cushion of two seconds evaporate and with two laps remaining, the Repsol Honda rider was breathing down his neck.

It was only a matter of time before Pedrosa made his move and once he went past Lorenzo at Turn 13 at the end of the penultimate lap, a Honda one-two was virtually assured.

Marquez closed out victory to become the first rider since Valentino Rossi in 2001 to win the opening three races of the championship. He also joined Italian legend Agostini as the only riders to have won the first three premier class races of the season after starting from pole position.

Pedrosa cemented second from Lorenzo, followed by Rossi, Bradl and Iannone.

Scott Redding was 14th on the Gresini Honda and Michael Laverty 18th on the PBM machine.

Hiroshi Aoyama was the top Open class rider in tenth, passing his Drive M7 Aspar team-mate Nicky Hayden in the final corners.

Argentina MotoGP:
1. Marc Marquez
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Andrea Iannone
7. Bradley Smith
8. Pol Espargaro
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Hiroshi Aoyama
11. Nicky Hayden
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. Karel Abraham
14. Scott Redding
15. Aleix Espargaro
16. Hector Barbera
17. Michele Pirro
18. Michael Laverty
19. Mike Di Meglio
20. Colin Edwards
21. Broc Parkes
Alvaro Bautista
Danilo Petrucci


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment