MotoGP »

Majestic first win for McWilliams!

There could not have been a more deserving winner of the 250cc Grand Prix at the daunting 6km Assen track, as Jeremy McWilliams dominated the Dutch TT to take his first ever GP victory – and the first British win since 1986.

The wet conditions at Assen on race morning had already played into the hands of McWilliams, as the Ulsterman fired a warning shot by leading the field in the soaking warm-up.

By the time the field assembled on the grid a few hours later the weather conditions had improved slightly, but the track was still 'wet' – though drying, and both McWilliams and teammate Rolfo took the decision to start the warm-up lap from the pitlane to give them the chance for a vital late tyre change.

As the red lights went out to signal the start of the race, pole sitter Tetsuya Harada made a terrible start (after a long delay before the light sequence began) while other front row starters Katoh, Melandri and McWilliams lead the way in first, second and third respectively.

Melandri passed Katoh for the lead half way around the first lap, with McWilliams following suite a corner later – then taking Melandri for the lead a few corners later, as the 37 year old revelled in the tricky conditions.

By the start of the second lap McWilliams and Melandri had begun to pull significantly away from Katoh, with Matsudo fourth and Porto now in fifth, while Harada was still down in fourteenth!

By the end of lap two the intermediate shod McWilliams was beginning to pull away – and one of the few riders not to have 'wet' tyres fitted, although Alzamora appeared to have slicks on in fourth, while de Gea was now up to third and apparently also on dry rubber – while the track was drying further.

Lap 4 of 18 and McWilliams had a lead of 8.7secs over Melandri, while de Gea and Alzamora hunted the young Italian (on a full wet set-up). One lap later and Alzamora was up to third ahead of de Gea, then took second from Melandri, as his tyres came into play.

Lap 6 and McWilliams held a 13.307secs lead over Alzamora, with de Gea now up third, ahead of Melandri, Boscoscuro, Rolfo, Katoh and Battaini.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jeremy McWilliams was on the pace from the first qualifying session at Assen.
Bastainini, German Moto3 race 2015
Locatelli, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, Masbou, German Moto3 race 2015
Carrasco, German Moto3 race 2015
Suzuki, German Moto3 race 2015
Antone;li, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Ajo, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, German Moto3 race 2015
McPhee, German Moto3 race 2015
Oettl, German Moto3 race 2015
Manzi, German Moto3 race 2015
Loi, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Antonelli, German Moto3 race 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.