MotoGP »

Nieto holds off 'The Pog' for 250 win.

Fonsi Nieto kept current Championship leader Manual Poggiali at bay through a thrilling final few laps as the Spanish rider finally scored his first win of the year aboard the Team Repsol Telefonica Movistar Aprilia.

Nieto crossed the finishing line of the 2.5-mile Donington Park circuit just three tenths of a second ahead of the current 250cc Championship leader after 27 fast-paced laps around the sun-drenched venue.

Assen winner Anthony West completed the podium after a last corner scramble with eventual fourth place finisher Toni Elias and fifth place Robby Rolfo, all three riders finishing less than three seconds behind the two leaders.

Sebastien Porto finished a rather distant sixth on his Telefonica Movistar Junior Honda but was almost half a minute behind the front quintet with veteran Franco Battaini seventh, Randy de Puniet eighth and front row qualifier Naoki Matsudo ninth.

British wildcard Jay Vincent, driving for his fathers Padgetts Racing team performed well to take eleventh place, less than five seconds behind tenth placed Alex Debon. Fellow Brit Chaz Davies also rode out of his skin in front of a massive home crowd to finish 13th, exactly two tenths of a second behind Hector Faubel but more than ten seconds clear of Jakub Smrz and Dirk Heidolf, who completed the points scorers.

Katja Poensgen came home 19th and last on her Dark Dog Molenaar Honda but both other British wildcard riders; Lee Dickinson and Phillip Desborough failed to finish.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The 250cc top three at Donington: Nieto (1st), Poggiali (2nd) and West (3rd).
Bastainini, German Moto3 race 2015
Locatelli, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, Masbou, German Moto3 race 2015
Carrasco, German Moto3 race 2015
Suzuki, German Moto3 race 2015
Antone;li, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Ajo, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, German Moto3 race 2015
McPhee, German Moto3 race 2015
Oettl, German Moto3 race 2015
Manzi, German Moto3 race 2015
Loi, German Moto3 race 2015
Fenati, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Herrera, German Moto3 race 2015
Antonelli, German Moto3 race 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.