Alvaro Bautista took a dominant start-to-finish victory in the 125cc Qatar Grand Prix a result which, combined with his debut victory at the Jerez season opener, means that a record sequence of fifty-six races without a back-to-back winner has finally been broken.

The last rider to take two wins in a row, prior to today, was Arnaud Vincent - who won at Donington Park and then Sachsenring all the way back in 2002.

"It was very difficult, as it was so windy and hard to control the bike," said Bautista. "I found a good rhythm and took the lead, getting used to the wind and I knew the others weren't going to catch me and I'm really pleased to have broken the record for back to back wins in 125cc, but the record wasn't my objective."

Related Articles

Aprilia rider Bautista stretched his advantage to a comfortable 6.765secs by the chequered flag, but behind him the fight for second was decided by a photo finish between KTM's Mika Kallio and Aprilia rider Sergio Gadea - which went in Kallio's favour.

Mattia Pasini came in fourth, ahead of Pablo Nieto and Hector Faubel. Angel Rodriguez was ahead of a resurgent Thomas Luthi, who continues on the road to full recovery. Simone Corsi and Julian Simon completed the top ten.

125cc top ten - Qatar Grand Prix:

1. Bautista (Aprilia)
2. Kallio (KTM) +6.765secs
3. Gadea (Aprilia) +6.775secs
4. Pasini (Aprilia) +8.327secs
5. Nieto (Aprilia) +14.551secs
6. Faubel (Aprilia) +15.266secs
7. Rodriguez (Aprilia) +15.356secs
8. Luthi (Honda) +16.236secs
9. Corsi (Gilera) +22.770secs
10. Simon (KTM) +23.137secs

22. Smith (Honda) +1min 14.885secs