MotoGP »

250: Bautista floors Lorenzo, takes debut win.

Reigning 125cc world champion Alvaro Bautista has taken his first 250cc win under dramatic circumstances at Mugello; the Spaniard sending reigning champion Jorge Lorenzo to the ground on the last lap, then stealing a last gasp victory from team-mate Alex de Angelis.

Lorenzo, despite a frightening near-miss with KTM's Mika Kallio, carved his way quickly up from 20th on the grid - after being caught out by the qualifying rain - to be in touch with pole sitter Bautista, home hero Andrea Dovizioso, de Angelis and Hector Barbera by lap 5 of 21.

The #1 then took his time to infiltrate the lead group, briefly taking the lead on lap 11 from countryman Barbera. The Team Toth rider quickly retaliated, but suffered a near highside soon after, dropping him to the tail of the group and ending his victory hopes.

But Lorenzo soon found other rivals to fill the void, as fist-waving Aspar Aprilia team-mates Bautista and de Angelis put their personal dispute temporarily on hold to pass Jorge with five laps to go, while fourth-placed Dovizioso dropped away on his underpowered Honda.

Lorenzo, Bautista and de Angelis remained nose-to-tail during the closing stages, with de Angelis taking the lead from Lorenzo into turn one on the last lap. Bautista lunged at Lorenzo soon after, but clipped his fellow Spaniard in the process - sending the winner of four of the opening five races off track and tumbling to the ground as he lost control of his Aprilia.

Bautista remained unphased and hunted down de Angelis, pulling alongside the San Marino rider through the final turn before winning a drag race to the line by just 0.087secs. Barbera beat Dovizioso to claim the final podium position while Lorenzo remounted to finish eighth.

Race results – Mugello:

1. Bautista (Aprilia)
2. de Angelis (Aprilia) +0.087secs
3. Barbera (Aprilia) +7.665secs
4. Dovizioso (Honda) +7.751secs
5. Luthi (Aprilia) +27.267secs
6. S. Aoyama (Honda) +27.522secs
7. Simon (Honda) +27.774secs
8. Lorenzo (Aprilia) +32.238secs
9. Simoncelli (Gilera) +51.455secs
10. West (Aprilia) +1min 4.308secs

20. Laverty (Honda) +1min 21.282secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bautista, Italian 250GP Race 2007
Bautista wins, de Angelis second, Italian 250GP Race 2007
Lorenzo, Italian 250GP Race 2007
Crutchlow, British MotoGP 2014
Marquez, British MotoGP 2014
Rossi, British MotoGP 2014
Redding, British MotoGP 2014
Oliveira, British Moto3 2014
Miller, British Moto3 2014
Antonelli, British Moto3 2014
Masbou, British Moto3 2014
Carrasco, British Moto3 2014
Antonelli, British Moto3 2014
Danilo, British Moto3 2014
Migno, British Moto3 2014
Hanika, British Moto3 2014
Danilo, British Moto3 2014
Migno, British Moto3 2014

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.