MotoGP »

125: Pasini perfect, drama behind.

Pasini took the early lead from third on the grid, then recovered after being bumped down to fourth to make a clear break by the halfway stage of the 23 laps.

The Italian, whose world title hopes were smashed by an appalling run of bad luck earlier in the year, went on to take Aprilia's 100th 125GP win by 4.774secs - while a furious four-rider fight for second ended with three of them on the floor!

Pole sitter Lukas Pesek was the first to go, after falling on his own, leaving Simone Corsi and world championship leaders Gabor Talmacsi and Hector Faubel to fight for the remaining podium places.

With two laps to go, Talmacsi edged inside team-mate Faubel, who then clipped the back of Corsi - bringing them both down. Talmacsi was thus left to collect second place and the world championship lead, by 10 points, while Corsi was out on the spot and Faubel out of the points.

While the incident was still being replayed, Pasini was already celebrating with his delighted fan club - and a beach chair - at the side of the track.

Race results – Misano:

1. Pasini (Aprilia)
2. Talmacsi (Aprilia) +4.774secs
3. Koyama (KTM) +8.576secs
4. Gadea (Aprilia) +15.819secs
5. Espargaro (Aprilia) +23.972secs
6. Krummenacher (KTM) +25.159secs
7. Bradl (Aprilia) +25.391secs
8. Smith (Honda) +25.513secs
9. de Rosa (Aprilia) +25.994secs
10. Ranseder (Derbi) +26.239secs

33. Webb (Honda) +1min 20.963secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mattia Pasini, 100 Aprilia 125cc victories. san Marino GP 2007
Pasini, San Marino 125GP 2007
Faubel and Corsi crash,  San Marino 125GP 2007
Redding, afterc crash, Aragon MotoGP Race 2016
Techer after crash, Aragon Moto2 Race 2016
Baldassarri`s crashed bike, Moto2, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Corsi, Moto2, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Corsi, Aragon Moto2 2016
Marquez` Crash helmet, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Alex Lowes crash, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Alex Lowes crash, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Alex Lowes crash, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Corsi, Aragon Moto2 2016
Pasini, Aragon Moto2 2016
Aleix Espargaro, running wide, Aragon MotoGP 2016
Brad Binder, Wins, San Marino Moto3 Race 2016
Brad Binder, Wins, San Marino Moto3 Race 2016
Herrera, San Marino Moto3 Race 2016

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.