MotoGP »

250: Simoncelli wins, takes title lead.

Amidst difficult rainy conditions in Sachsenring, Marco Simoncelli stormed to his third victory of the season at the 250cc German Grand Prix.

Riding with a new Gilera RSA, the Italian dominated proceedings to win both the race and take the leadership of the world championship heading into the summer break.

Over seven seconds separated Simoncelli from the chasing pack with just a third of the race completed, and those behind him could do nothing to stop the Metis Gilera rider from breaking free.

Simoncelli's great escape to victory did not signal an end to the action, however, as a five-rider battle raged on for second place. Hector Barbera led the charge onboard his Team Toth Aprilia, taking his third rostrum finish of the year. He held off the challenge of Alvaro Bautista despite some tough competition from his fellow Spaniard.

Bautista had experienced a terrible start to his race, and had to work hard to rejoin the podium fight. Mapfre Aspar's former 125cc World Champion made a spectacular comeback on the slippery track, recording some of the fastest laps of the race and salvaging a fourth consecutive podium.

Mika Kallio performed an exercise of damage limitation as he conceded the lead of the overall classification, ensuring that the advantage held by Simoncelli could be easily closed when the series returns in mid-August. The Red Bull KTM rider came in ahead of Repsol KTM's Julian Simon, who took his best result of 2008 to date.

Mattia Pasini and Thomas Luthi both picked up valuable points in sixth and seventh place, respectively, whilst Kallio's team-mate Hiroshi Aoyama completed the race in eighth despite breaking his fairing in a late crash. Yuki Takahashi and Roberto Locatelli were the remaining two riders in the first ten across the line.

With next weekend's US Grand Prix for the MotoGP class only, round eleven of the 250cc World Championship will be held at Brno on August 17.

Race results - Sachsenring:

1. Simoncelli (Gilera)
2. Barbera (Aprilia) +2.257secs
3. Bautista (Aprilia) +2.423secs
4. Kallio (KTM) +4.150secs
5. Simon (KTM) +4.846secs
6. Pasini (Aprilia) +8.132secs
7. Luthi (Aprilia) +38.302secs
8. Aoyama (KTM) +48.926secs
9. Takahashi (Honda) +50.062secs
10. Locatelli (Gilera) +51.670secs

15. Laverty (Aprilia) +1min 13.856secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simoncelli, German 250GP 2008
Rossi, celebrating Fenati’s win, French Moto3 Race 2015
Lorenzo, Wins, Spanish MotoGP 2015
Lorenzo, wins, Spanish MotoGP 2015
Bo Bendsneyder, Wins, Red Bull Rookies MotoGP Cup, Spanish MotoGP 2015
Masbou wins, Moto3 race, Qatar MotoGP 2015
Luthi, wins, Valencia Moto2 Race 2014
Miller, Wins, Valencia Moto3 Race 2014
Marquez, Wins, Valencia MotoGP Race 2014
Marquez, Wins, Valencia MotoGP Race 2014
Marquez, Wins, Malaysian MotoGP Race 2014
Marquez, Team, Malaysian MotoGP Race 2014
Rossi fan, Australian MotoGP 2014
Rossi celebrates win, Australian MotoGP 2014
Lorenzo wins, Japanese MotoGP 2014
Rins, Wins, San Marino Moto3 Race 2014
Rabat, Wins, San Marino Moto2 Race 2014
Rabat wins, San Marino Moto2 race 2014

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.