MotoGP »

125: Terol takes rain-interrupted Indy win.

The first ever motorcycle grand prix to be held at the Indianapolis Motor speedway has been won by Nicolas Terol, after the Jack and Jones Aprilia rider took victory in a rain-shortened 125cc event.

The race began on a dry track but raindrops began falling from the midpoint of the planned 23 lap race distance - and got progressively heavier until the red flags were finally shown with six laps still go.

Pole sitter Pol Espargaro led the majority of the race, but was passed by Terol when the first drops of rain began falling. When the rain became heavier the situation was reversed and Espargaro charged back up to Terol's rear wheel, snatching the lead back just before the red flags were waved.

But with the final classification being taken from the end of the last full lap, Terol clinched his first ever grand prix win by 1.7secs from the Belsen Derbi of Espargaro.

Blusens Aprilia's star rookie Scott Redding held third for much of the race, but lost the final podium position to fellow debut 2008 race winner Stefan Bradl shortly before the stoppage.

World championship leader Mike di Meglio was among the five-strong group that had hunted down Redding, but lost out during the hectic final laps before the stoppage and was eventually credited with tenth position.

The Frenchman now holds a slightly reduced 25 point lead over Simone Corsi heading into the final four rounds.

Race results - Indianapolis:

1. Terol (Aprilia)
2. Espargaro (Derbi) +1.708secs
3. Bradl (Aprilia) +3.984secs
4. Redding (Aprilia) +4.277secs
5. Cortese (Aprilia) +4.413secs
6. Marquez (KTM) +4.454secs
7. Corsi (Aprilia) +6.261secs
8. Smith (Aprilia) +7.782secs
9. Bonsey (Aprilia) +12.035secs
10. di Meglio (Derbi) +12.251secs

15. Webb (Aprilia) +27.592secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Terol, Indianapolis 125GP Race 2008
Kent, Wins, British Moto3 Race 2015
Kent, Wins, British Moto3 Race 2015
Rossi, Wins, British MotoGP Race 2015
Zarco, wins, British Moto2 race 2015
Zarco, wins, British Moto2 race 2015
Bo Bendsneyder, Wins, Red Bull Rookies MotoGP Cup, Czech MotoGP 2015
Bo Bendsneyder, Wins, Red Bull Rookies MotoGP Cup, Czech MotoGP 2015
Antonelli, Wins, Czech Moto3 Race 2015
Lorenzo, Wins, Czech MotoGP Race 2015
WIN! Tickets to the MotoGP™ British Grand Prix
Win tickets to the British MotoGP at Silverstone
Pedrosa and Marquez, Indianapolis MotoGP 2015
Pedrosa and Marquez, Indianapolis MotoGP 2015
Pedrosa and Marquez, Indianapolis MotoGP 2015
Smith, Espargaro, Nakasuga celebrate Suzuka win (pic: Yamaha)
Smith, Espargaro, Nakasuga win Suzuka (pic: Yamaha)
Rossi, celebrating Fenati’s win, French Moto3 Race 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.