MotoGP »

250: Simoncelli extends lead at Motegi.

Marco Simoncelli has extended his 250cc World Championship lead by winning Sunday's Japanese Grand Prix at Motegi.

The Italian lost out to Alex Debon into turn one, but was back in front by the end of the first lap - where he ultimately remained at the chequered flag.

Nevertheless, Mapfre Aspar Aprilia's Alvaro Bautista made his way steadily forwards and took second position just after the halfway stage of the 23 laps.

The Spaniard looked set to mount a serious victory attack as he closed to within 0.3secs of Simoncelli's Metis Gilera with three laps to go - but was held up by a backmarker, allowing Simoncelli the breathing room he needed to secure his fourth victory of the season and Dunlop's 200th.

Simoncelli, who began the race 26 points clear of Mika Kallio, will start the final three rounds of the championship 32 points in front of new nearest rival Bautista, after Kallio finished a lonely fifth on his factory KTM.

Race results - Motegi:

1. Simoncelli (Gilera)
2. Bautista (Aprilia) +0.348secs
3. Debon (Aprilia) +8.414secs
4. Simon (KTM) +9.151secs
5. Kallio (KTM) +17.041secs
6. Takahashi (Honda) +19.632secs
7. Espargaro (Aprilia) +19.892secs
8. Pasini (Aprilia) +20.442secs
9. Aoyama (KTM) +22.303secs
10. Locatelli (Gilera) +22.387secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bautista, Sacchi, Simoncelli, Debon,  Japanese 250GP 2008
Winning bikes, FIM Awards, Valencia MotoGP 2015
Redding, Japanese MotoGP Race 2015
Antonelli, wins, Japanese Moto3 Race 2015
Pedrosa, Wins, Japanese MotoGP Race 2015
Pedrosa, Wins, Japanese MotoGP Race 2015
Hayden, Race action, Japanese MotoGP Race 2015
Crutchlow, Japanese MotoGP 2015
Valentino Rossi on the Movistar Yamaha at Motegi.
Takumi Takahashi on the Team HRC Nissin Honda at Motegi.
Eugene Laverty on the Power Electronics Aspar Honda at Motegi in Japan.
Aleix Espargaro on the factory Suzuki GSX-RR at Motegi.
Bo Bendsneyder, Wins, Red Bull Rookies MotoGP Cup, San Marino MotoGP 2015
Bo Bendsneyder, Wins, Red Bull Rookies MotoGP Cup, San Marino MotoGP 2015
Bastianini, Wins, San Marino Moto3 Race 2015
Bastianini, Wins, San Marino Moto3 Race 2015
Zarco, Wins, San Marino Moto2 Race 2015
Marquez, Wins, San Marino MotoGP Race 2015

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.