Testing began at 10am and concluded at 6pm, but wind and rain severely reduced track activity.

Ivan Silva and Franco Battaini recorded dry times this morning, just before the rain arrived.

After several hours of silence waiting in vain for better weather, most riders began taking to the track with wet settings from around 2pm. Dani Pedrosa set his best time during a long run in the fully wet conditions.

The track then finally began drying towards the end of the day - producing a flurry of late lap-time activity that ended with Nicky Hayden fastest.

The three-day test marks the first time that the full 21 rider grid, including the nine new CRT entries, have been on track at the same time.

Honda's reigning champion Casey Stoner was fastest at the two previous tests, held in Malaysia, and also on day one in Jerez.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the test...

1. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 40.755s (Lap 38/40)
2. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 1m 41.661s (37/39)
3. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 41.726s (24/26)
4. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 42.711s (27/27)
5. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 1m 43.288s (35/35)
6. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia (FTR-Kawasaki)* 1m 43.613s (36/37)
7. Franco Battaini ITA Ducati Test Rider (GP12) 1m 44.264s (4/48)
8. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda)* 1m 44.761s (7/9)
9. James Ellison GBR PBM (ART)* 1m 44.969s (30/30)
10. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came Iodaracing (Ioda-Aprilia)* 1m 45.336s (20/24)
11. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW)* 1m 47.968s (25/26)
12. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 49.822s (11/25)
13. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 50.088s (22/28)
14. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 51.127s (5/15)
15. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 51.702s (15/16)
16. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART)* 1m 51.772s (11/12)
17. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 51.778s (16/23)
18. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 51.856s (3/3)
19. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 51.910s (18/18)
20. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART)* 1m 52.397s (8/8)
21. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART)* 1m 57.718s (6/8)
22. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia (FTR-Kawasaki)* No Time (0/0)

* CRT entry.

Fastest day one time: Casey Stoner AUS Honda 1m 39.146s

Official Jerez MotoGP lap records: Pole position: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 38.189s (2008) Fastest race lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 39.731s (2010)


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment