Crash.Net MotoGP News

US MotoGP, Laguna Seca - Friday practice (2)

27 July 2012

The session was red-flagged with ten minutes to go following an accident for Valentino Rossi. The Italian was unhurt but his Ducati damaged the airfence, forcing repairs before the session could be restarted.

Alvaro Bautista and Cal Crutchlow also fell this afternoon.

Cardion AB Ducati's Karel Abraham is returning to action this weekend, while Pramac Ducati's Hector Barbera has been ruled out by a broken leg in a training accident.

Barbera has been replaced by former MotoGP race winner Toni Elias, who split from the Aspar Moto2 team after Mugello.

The US GP also sees AMA rider Steve Rapp become the first wild-card entry of the season and first ever for the new CRT class.

Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa has one of the new RC213Vs available for Laguna Seca, while team-mate Casey Stoner has the new engine in the present chassis, as he had requested. Ducati are expected to debut 'some' new parts.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 21.088s
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 21.422s
3. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 21.457s
4. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 21.708s
5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 22.021s
6. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 22.258s
7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 22.434s
8. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 22.568s
9. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 22.772s
10. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 22.853s
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 23.835s
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 23.870s
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 1m 24.732s
14. Toni Elias ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 1m 24.739s
15. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 24.774s
16. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 1m 24.849s
17. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 1m 25.000s
18. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 25.065s
19. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 25.166s
20. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 25.405s
21. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 1m 25.422s
22. Steve Rapp USA Attack Performance (APR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 28.016s

Fastest FP1 time:
Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 21.424s

Official Laguna Seca MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 20.700s (2008)
Fastest race lap:
Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 21.376s (2010)