Cold, moist and foggy conditions meant most riders remained in the pits until the final ten minutes. Dani Pedrosa and Casey Stoner didn't record a lap time.

Cardion AB Ducati's Karel Abraham is returning to action this weekend, while Pramac Ducati's Hector Barbera has been ruled out by a broken leg in a training accident.

Barbera has been replaced by former MotoGP race winner Toni Elias, who split from the Aspar Moto2 team after Mugello.

The US GP also sees AMA rider Steve Rapp become the first wild-card entry of the season and first ever for the new CRT class.

Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa has one of the new RC213Vs available for Laguna Seca, while team-mate Casey Stoner has the new engine in the present chassis, as he had requested. Ducati are expected to debut 'some' new parts.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 21.445s
2. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 22.268s
3. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 22.688s
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 23.021s
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 23.294s
6. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 23.832s
7. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 24.189s
8. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 24.398s
9. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 24.506s
10. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 1m 24.572s
11. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 24.749s
12. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 1m 25.244s
13. Toni Elias ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 1m 25.438s
14. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 1m 26.283s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 1m 26.315s
16. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 26.488s
17. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 27.067s
18. Steve Rapp USA Attack Performance (APR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 27.486s
19. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 27.778s
20. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 33.726s
Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) No Time
Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) No Time

Fastest Friday time: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 21.088s (FP2)

Official Laguna Seca MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 20.700s (2008) Fastest race lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 21.376s (2010)