Championship leader Marc Marquez had a lucky escape when he appeared to forget to put his bike into gear for the start, and was lucky not to be hit by the riders behind.

Almost last into turn one, Marquez carved forwards to finish the first lap in ninth, then took the lead from Esteve Rabat on lap 10 of 23!

Marquez later came under pressure from Rabat's team-mate and pole sitter Pol Espargaro, who was close enough to strike with four laps to go, but ran wide on the penultimate lap.

Espargaro closed back in on the final lap but was given no opportunity to pass by Marquez, who now holds a 53 point lead over Espargaro with three rounds to go...

1. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 42m 56.171s
2. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 42m 56.586s
3. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 43m 5.755s
4. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 43m 7.240s
5. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 43m 7.766s
6. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 43m 14.554s
7. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 43m 14.843s
8. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 43m 24.397s
9. Axel Pons SPA (Kalex) 43m 24.622s
10. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 43m 24.770s
11. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 43m 25.142s
12. Anthony West AUS (Speed Up) 43m 25.780s
13. Jordi Torres SPA (Suter) 43m 25.986s
14. Xavier Simeon BEL (Tech 3) 43m 35.954s
15. Mike Di Meglio FRA (Kalex) 43m 36.039s
16. Yuki Takahashi JPN (FTR) 43m 36.141s
17. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 43m 36.934s
18. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 43m 37.071s
19. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 43m 40.550s
20. Alex De Angelis RSM (FTR) 43m 42.678s
21. Ratthapark Wilairot THA (Suter) 43m 51.732s
22. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 43m 51.986s
23. Tomoyoshi Koyama JPN (Suter) 43m 52.222s
24. Marcel Schrotter GER (Bimota) 43m 52.663s
25. Gino Rea GBR (Suter) 43m 54.588s
26. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA (Speed Up) 44m 8.569s
27. Elena Rosell SPA (Speed Up) 44m 36.012s
28. Eric Granado BRA (MotoBI) 44m 36.958s
29. Jesko Raffin SWI (Kalex) 1 lap