A storm just before the start of the session soaked the track, which then began to dry during the session, with some riders fitting slicks at the very end.

However eight riders, including FP1 leaders Dani Pedrosa, Casey Stoner and Jorge Lorenzo did not record a lap time.

Alvaro Bautista had been fastest from Valentino Rossi and Nicky Hayden in the wet part of FP2.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 2m 10.602s
2. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 2m 12.043s
3. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 2m 12.046s
4. Roberto Rolfo ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 2m 13.216s
5. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 2m 16.143s
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 2m 17.136s
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 2m 17.173s
8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 2m 17.429s
9. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 2m 17.804s
10. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 2m 18.478s
11. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 2m 19.085s
12. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 2m 21.113s
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 2m 26.857s
Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) No Time
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) No Time
Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Suter-BMW CRT) No Time
Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) No Time
Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) No Time
Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) No Time
Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) No Time
Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) No Time

Fastest FP1 time: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 2m 1.621s

Official Sepang MotoGP records: Best lap: Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha 2m 0.518s (2009) Fastest race lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 2m 2.108s (2007)

Fastest lap in 2012 pre-season testing: Casey Stoner AUS Honda 1m 59.607s (February 2)