Crash.Net MotoGP News

German MotoGP, Sachsenring - Free practice (2)

12 July 2013

The session was red flagged after a big highside for Jorge Lorenzo during the opening ten minutes.

Lorenzo, fastest in FP1 and leading FP2, landed hard on his newly-plated broken collarbone and - although able to walk away - headed straight to the medical centre and did not return to the circuit.

Cal Crutchlow then fell through the fast turn 11 right-hander shortly after the restart. The Englishman joined Lorenzo in the medical centre for checks.

Hiroshi Aoyama, injured at Catalunya, is returning to action this weekend, while Pramac's Ben Spies continues to be side-lined and is again replaced by Ducati test rider Michele Pirro.

Cardion AB's Karel Abraham did not ride due to flu and fever.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 22.030s
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 22.239s
3. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 22.251s
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 22.252s
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 22.395s
6. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.572s
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 22.763s
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.850s
9. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 22.976s
10. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 23.008s
11. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 23.040s
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 23.255s
13. Michele Pirro ITA Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 23.491s
14. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 23.524s
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 23.627s
16. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 23.636s
17. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 23.866s
18. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 23.911s
19. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 23.932s
20. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.078s
21. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.647s
22. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 24.862s
23. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 25.568s
Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) No Time

* Standard ECU.

Fastest FP1 time:
Jorge Lorenzo ESP Honda 1m 22.047s

Official Sachsenring MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Casey Stoner AUS Honda 1m 21.067s (2008)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 21.846s (2011)