Marc Marquez fell while fastest with four minutes remaining, with Stefan Bradl then snatching his first MotoGP pole from the absent Marquez in the final minute.

Cal Crutchlow battled technical problems throughout the session and only set a lap time in the closing minutes.

Title contenders Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo are returning from collarbone injuries sustained during practice for last weekend's German round.

Andrea Iannone has been ruled out after dislocating his shoulder at the Sachsenring and is not replaced. Iannone's long-injured Pramac Ducati team-mate Ben Spies is being replaced by Moto2 rider Alex de Angelis.

American Blake Young was due to make his second wild-card appearance of the year with Attack Performance Racing, but withdrew after heavy damage to the bike on Friday.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 21.176s
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 21.193s
3. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 21.373s
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 21.418s
5. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 21.420s
6. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 21.453s
7. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 21.728s
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.026s
9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 22.075s
10. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.090s
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 22.099s
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) No Time

13. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 22.808s
14. Alex De Angelis RSM Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 23.253s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 23.272s
16. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 23.323s
17. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 23.616s
18. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 23.875s
19. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 23.919s
20. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 23.987s
21. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.235s
22. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 24.756s
23. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 24.809s
* Standard ECU.

Fastest practice time: Marc Marquez ESP Honda 1m 21.568s (FP3)

Official Laguna Seca MotoGP records: Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 20.554 (2012) Fastest race lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 21.229s (2012)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.