Aleix Espargaro walked away from a nasty highside out of the final turn, then went to the medical centre to have a hand injury examined. He should return for qualifying.

Stefan Bradl saved a major moment early in the session, but then slid off his LCR Honda in the closing minutes.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice, will now get underway.

Pramac Ducati's Ben Spies has been forced to withdraw after dislocating his left shoulder in Saturday morning practice. The luckless Spies has not raced since round two due to right shoulder injuries.

American Blake Young is making his third wild-card appearance of the year this weekend, with Attack Performance Racing.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 38.986s
2. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 39.114s
3. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 39.137s
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 39.317s
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 39.500s
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 39.581s
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 39.782s
8. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 39.978s
9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 40.171s
10. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 40.373s
11. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 40.881s
12. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 41.195s
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 41.215s
14. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 41.355s
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 41.594s
16. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 41.840s
17. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 41.844s
18. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 42.113s
19. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 42.164s
20. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 42.231s
21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 42.550s
22. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 43.068s
23. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 43.085s
24. Blake Young USA Attack Performance Racing (APR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 45.139s
* Standard ECU.

Fastest practice time: Marc Marquez ESP Honda 1m 38.844s (FP3)

Official Indianapolis MotoGP records: Best lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 38.813s (2012) Fastest race lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 39.088s (2012)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.