Crash.Net MotoGP News

British Moto2, Silverstone - Race Results

1 September 2013

Scott Redding was cheered to a popular home victory in the British Moto2 Grand Prix at Silverstone on Sunday, after battling Takaaki Nakagami and Thomas Luthi for most of the race.

Esteve Rabat also joined the lead group in the closing laps, finishing fourth.

Redding is the first British rider to win an intermediate-class race at his home GP since Tom Herron at the Isle of Man TT in 1976!

Redding, who has now won three races this year, said: "That was absolutely amazing! It was pressure but no pressure. The atmosphere from the crowd was pushing me on and keeping me calm. To get a home win here is amazing and has done amazing things for my championship. Thanks to everyone who has helped me this year because that race was outstanding."

Redding's world championship lead has now ballooned from 21 to 38 points over Pol Espargaro, who struggled throughout the grand prix and finished in eighth...

1. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 38m 22.897s
2. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 38m 23.963s
3. Thomas Luthi SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Rac (Suter) 38m 24.067s
4. Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 38m 24.324s
5. Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 38m 25.123s
6. Mika Kallio FIN Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 38m 31.039s
7. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 38m 35.043s
8. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 38m 36.125s
9. Simone Corsi ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 38m 38.059s
10. Mattia Pasini ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 38m 38.122s
11. Nicolas Terol SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 38m 43.631s
12. Julian Simon SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 38m 45.250s
13. Jordi Torres SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 38m 48.554s
14. Alex De Angelis RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 38m 48.891s
15. Toni Elias SPA Blusens Avintia (Kalex) 38m 51.797s
16. Marcel Schrotter GER Maptaq SAG Zelos Team (Kalex) 38m 54.909s
17. Ricard Cardus SPA NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 38m 55.627s
18. Danny Kent GBR Tech 3 (Tech 3) 38m 55.697s
19. Randy Krummenache SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 39m 3.839s
20. Anthony West AUS QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 39m 13.111s
21. Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex) 39m 13.404s
22. Axel Pons SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 39m 13.520s
23. Yuki Takahashi JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Moriwaki) 39m 13.900s
24. Louis Rossi FRA Tech 3 (Tech 3) 39m 14.423s
25. Jason O'Halloran AUS JiR Moto2 (MotoBI) 39m 14.753s
26. Doni Tata Pradita INA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 (Suter) 39m 47.056s
27. Thitipong Warokorn THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 (Suter) 39m 47.971s
28. Rafid Topan Sucipto INA QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 39m 34.621s