Crash.Net MotoGP News

British MotoGP, Silverstone - Race Results

1 September 2013

Jorge Lorenzo has won the British MotoGP after a stunning last lap battle with injured rookie Marc Marquez.

Title leader Marquez rode despite dislocating his left shoulder in morning warm-up and clung with race leader Lorenzo from the start.

Marquez's team-mate Dani Pedrosa then caught the leading duo by lap 7 of 20 - forming a repeat of the Indianapolis and Brno battles.

Marquez defied his injury to briefly pass Lorenzo to lead with two laps to go, then launched a repeat pass into Brooklands - at the end of the Wellington Straight - on the final lap.

But Lorenzo dived back inside at the following Luffield Turn and held on through the sweeping final Woodcote corner to win by 0.081s!

Lorenzo's first win since Catalunya means he is 39 points from Marquez, but Marquez - who had won the previous four rounds - still extended his advantage, to 30 points, over nearest title rival Pedrosa.

Ducati test rider Michele Pirro was again replacing the re-injured Ben Spies at Pramac. Cardion AB's Karel Abraham was also absent through to injury, but has not been replaced.

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 40m 52.515s
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 52.596s
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 54.066s
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 41m 5.748s
5. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 41m 5.813s
6. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 41m 12.742s
7. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 18.814s
8. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 41m 28.508s
9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 28.634s
10. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 41m 45.711s
11. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 41m 51.573s
12. Michele Pirro ITA Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 41m 53.225s
13. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 41m 54.205s
14. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 41m 54.358s
15. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 42m 1.348s
16. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 42m 1.578s
17. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 42m 8.989s
18. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 42m 9.050s
19. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 42m 24.572s
20. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 42m 28.739s
21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 42m 53.150s
22. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) DNF
23. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* DNF

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

* Standard ECU.

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.