Marc Marquez slid off his Repsol Honda after losing the front on corner entry, just before the halfway stage of the 30-minute session.

The rookie title leader then returned to the pits on a scooter for his spare bike. Despite the spill, Marquez remained fastest, having set the quickest time of the weekend just before his fall.

However Marquez is likely to have only one bike for qualifying.

Team-mate Dani Pedrosa did not look happy with the handling of his RCV.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice - including double 2013 pole sitter Cal Crutchlow - will now get underway.

Yamaha riders Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi are using the factory's new seamless shift gearbox for the first time in a grand prix weekend.

Ducati test rider Michele Pirro is again replacing the injured Ben Spies at Pramac. Pirro is back on the development 'lab' bike this weekend. Cardion AB's Karel Abraham is returning from injury.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 33.912s
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 34.125s
3. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 34.418s
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 34.447s
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 34.826s
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 35.081s
7. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 35.142s
8. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 35.171s
9. Michele Pirro ITA Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 35.215s
10. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 35.250s
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 35.318s
12. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 35.505s
13. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 35.656s
14. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 35.794s
15. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 35.812s
16. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 35.988s
17. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 36.257s
18. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 36.477s
19. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 36.626s
20. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 37.218s
21. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 37.277s
22. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 37.553s
23. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 37.718s
24. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 38.451s
* Standard ECU.

Fastest practice time: Marc Marquez ESP Honda1m 33.975s (FP3)

Official Misano MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Honda1m 33.138s (2011) Fastest race lap: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha1m 33.906s (2011)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.