Rookie title leader Marc Marquez was unhurt in a highside at Lukey Heights early in the session.

Marquez later returned, while Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa parked his RCV due to a part hanging from the side of his bike with ten minutes to go.

Phillip Island has been resurfaced since last year's event.

Honda LCR's Stefan Bradl has withdrawn after testing his newly fractured ankle in Friday morning practice.

Yonny Hernandez continues to replace Ben Spies at Pramac Ducati, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB...

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 28.961s (Lap 16/18)
2. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 29.438s (18/19)
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 29.478s (10/13)
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 29.537s (23/23)
5. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 29.667s (14/21)
6. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 29.989s (13/17)
7. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 30.165s (23/23)
8. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 30.215s (17/23)
9. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 30.609s (13/22)
10. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 30.754s (20/22)
11. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 30.792s (17/20)
12. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.917s (21/21)
13. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 31.091s (16/17)
14. Yonny Hernandez COL Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 31.134s (16/17)
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 31.286s (16/16)
16. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 31.434s (12/20)
17. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 31.451s (14/17)
18. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 31.985s (13/22)
19. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 32.066s (23/23)
20. Luca Scassa ITA Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 32.261s (12/21)
21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 32.290s (9/22)
22. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 32.943s (10/18)
23. Damian Cudlin AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 34.969s (14/16)
* Standard ECU.

Fastest first practice time: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 29.167s

Official Australian MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 28.665s (2008) Fastest race lap: Nicky Hayden USA Honda1m 30.059s (2008)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment