Dani Pedrosa sets the fastest lap of the weekend.

Phillip Island has been resurfaced since last year's event - after Friday practice, Bridgestone specified that all riders must use the harder rear for the race due to increased tyre wear.

An extra-hard rear tyre was then introduced, alongside the hard and medium specifications, to try in FP4. However Cal Crutchlow stopped on track to inspect a visibly worn rear tyre - thought to have been the extra hard option.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice, will now get underway.

Honda LCR's Stefan Bradl has withdrawn after testing his newly fractured ankle in Friday morning practice.

Yonny Hernandez continues to replace Ben Spies at Pramac Ducati, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 28.959s (Lap 12/15)
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 29.012s (8/12)
3. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 29.243s (12/13)
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 29.413s (9/16)
5. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 29.864s (11/17)
6. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 30.016s (13/15)
7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 30.063s (14/16)
8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 30.111s (15/16)
9. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 30.254s (12/12)
10. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.421s (15/15)
11. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 30.520s (7/16)
12. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 30.603s (11/14)
13. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 30.747s (3/14)
14. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.974s (6/13)
15. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.991s (3/11)
16. Yonny Hernandez COL Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 31.349s (4/5)
17. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 31.351s (5/13)
18. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 31.465s (7/11)
19. Luca Scassa ITA Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 31.612s (3/13)
20. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 32.089s (10/11)
21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 32.150s (3/12)
22. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 32.981s (5/10)
23. Damian Cudlin AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 34.009s (6/12)
* Standard ECU.

Fastest practice time: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 28.961s (FP2)

Official Australian MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 28.665s (2008) Fastest race lap: Nicky Hayden USA Honda1m 30.059s (2008)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment