Marc Marquez - who has the second of three chances to clinch the 2013 title this afternoon - fell heavily during the session, but returned to set the third fastest time.

As forecast the Sunday weather is dry and bright, after a cancelled Friday and wet Saturday afternoon.

Due to this weekend's disrupted schedule, a 45-minute free practice session was held on Sunday morning, in place of the usual morning warm-up.

Honda LCR's Stefan Bradl is making his second return attempt after fracturing his ankle at Sepang, while Yamaha test rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga is competing as a wild-card.

Yonny Hernandez continues to replace Ben Spies at Pramac Ducati, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 46.440s (Lap 18/20)
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 46.459s (16/18)
3. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 46.563s (16/16)
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 46.580s (8/16)
5. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 46.635s (16/17)
6. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 46.740s (18/20)
7. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 46.913s (15/18)
8. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 47.102s (11/19)
9. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 47.187s (16/18)
10. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 47.476s (14/20)
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 47.732s (14/17)
12. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha YSP Racing Team (YZR-M1) 1m 48.074s (16/19)
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 48.300s (16/17)
14. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 48.475s (19/21)
15. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 48.555s (10/17)
16. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 48.629s (18/18)
17. Yonny Hernandez COL Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 48.658s (16/18)
18. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 49.010s (14/20)
19. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 49.090s (14/20)
20. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 49.497s (15/19)
21. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 49.954s (18/18)
22. Luca Scassa ITA Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 50.260s (12/14)
23. Damian Cudlin AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 50.427s (15/15)
24. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 52.160s (9/12)
25. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 52.877s (4/9)
* Standard ECU.

Pole position time: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 53.471s (wet)

Official Motegi MotoGP records: Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 44.969s (2012) Fastest race lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda1m 46.090s (2012)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.