MotoGP »

Qatar MotoGP, Losail - Warm-up Results

Full warm-up results from the 2014 Qatar MotoGP at Losail, round 1 of 18.
Eleventh on the grid Andrea Iannone surprisingly set the pace during warm-up for the season opening Qatar MotoGP.

Iannone, hampered by a technical problem in qualifying, ran the medium rear tyre (the hardest option available to Ducati and the Open class) with his fourth of ten laps keeping him 0.054s clear of Aleix Espargaro.

Open class star Espargaro repaired his confidence after a qualifying nightmare, which saw two falls from the Forward Yamaha, but - like Iannone - will need to fight through from ninth on the grid.

Factory Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo will likewise be encouraged with third place, his best of the weekend, while front row starter Alvaro Bautista, tenth on the grid Valentino Rossi and pole sitter Marc Marquez completed the top six.

However Marquez was notably running the hard, rather than medium, rear tyre.

Ducati's Cal Crutchlow fell at the end of the session - a lowside on entry to turn two. The Englishman was unhurt, as was Danilo Petrucci, who fell from his Ioda earlier on.

Iannone to Crutchlow in eleventh were covered by just 0.762s!

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 1m 55.657s
2. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 1m 55.711s | +0.054s
3. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 55.769s | +0.112s
4. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 55.868s | +0.211s
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 55.977s | +0.320s
6. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 55.990s | +0.333s
7. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 56.001s | +0.344s
8. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 56.037s | +0.380s
9. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 56.230s | +0.573s
10. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 56.290s | +0.633s
11. Cal Crutchlow GBR Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 56.419s | +0.762s
12. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 56.507s | +0.850s
13. Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) 1m 56.668s | +1.011s
14. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R) 1m 56.889s | +1.232s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 1m 56.908s | +1.251s
16. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Avintia) 1m 57.228s | +1.571s
17. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R) 1m 57.293s | +1.636s
18. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 1m 57.294s | +1.637s
19. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) 1m 57.329s | +1.672s
20. Broc Parkes AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) 1m 58.378s | +2.721s
21. Danilo Petrucci ITA IodaRacing Project (ART) 1m 58.625s | +2.968s
22. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) 1m 58.734s | +3.077s
23. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Avintia) 2m 0.083s | +4.426s

Blue = Factory - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).
Black = Factory (with concessions) - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Currently only Ducati, but technically applicable to any Factory manufacturer that has not achieved a dry win the previous year, or any new MotoGP manufacturer.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes for the season. No engine development freeze, plus the same softer rear tyre allocation and extra testing opportunities as the Open category. Fuel to be reduced to 22 litres should Ducati achieve a race win, two second places or three (dry) podiums during 2014. If Ducati claims three wins this season they will also lose the softer rear tyre. All other concessions confirmed until start of single ECU era in 2016.
Red = Open - Full control ECU system, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes for the season. No engine development freeze, a softer rear tyre allocation and more testing opportunities relative to the Factory option.

Pole position:
Marc Marquez ESP Honda 1m 54.505s

Official Qatar MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 53.927s (2011)
Fastest race lap:
Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 55.153s (2008)

For the latest updates follow the NEW MotoGP Twitter page

Tagged as: Ducati , Iannone

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Iannone, Qatar MotoGP 2014
American Flat Track star Jared Mees during 2014 Superprestigio Dirt Track
Marc Marquez celebrates Superprestigio Dirt Track victory
Marquez, Mees and Noyes on 2014 Superprestigio podium
Jorge Lorenzo to race in Gulf 12 Hours (pic:
Pol Espargaro attends Asean Cup race at Indonesia`s Sentul circuit (pic: Tech 3)
Charity helmet signed by MotoGP stars sets record
Repsol chairman Antonio Brufau with Marc and Alex Marquez (pic: Repsol)
Shoulder surgery for Jack Miller (pic: LCR)
Valentino Rossi at 2014 Monza Rally (Pic: Cristiano Bami)
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Iannone, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014
Melandri, Jerez WSBK/MotoGP test, November 2014

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.