Crash.Net MotoGP News

Assen MotoGP - Race Results

28 June 2014

MotoGP champion Marc Marquez continues his unbeaten 2014 run to eight in a row despite chaotic weather during Saturday's Dutch TT at Assen.

A match for Marquez in the early wet laps, Andrea Dovizioso led the dry middle stages of the race on his way to a best Ducati finish of second.

Dani Pedrosa spent much of the grand prix battling with debut pole sitter Aleix Espargaro before pulling away to confirm third.

A brief but heavy rain shower delayed the start of the race, which began with most riders on wet tyres.

However the track rapidly began to dry and pit stops, to change to bikes fitted with slick tyres, began after 5 of 26 laps.

Valentino Rossi (12th on grid) intended to gamble on slicks for the start, but a further shower on the sighting lap saw Rossi pull in, change to his wet bike and begin the race from the end of pit lane...

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 43m 29.954s
2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 43m 36.668s
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 43m 40.745s
4. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 43m 49.153s
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 43m 55.767s
6. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 43m 58.957s
7. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 44m 0.836s
8. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 44m 0.939s
9. Cal Crutchlow GBR Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 44m 13.985s
10. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 44m 18.616s
11. Broc Parkes AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)* 44m 21.817s
12. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R)* 44m 30.283s
13. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 44m 34.595s
14. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R) 44m 35.934s
15. Danilo Petrucci ITA IodaRacing Project (ART) 44m 47.565s
16. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) 44m 49.707s
17. Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) 44m 57.584s
18. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Avintia) 44m 58.096s
19. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 43m 41.754s
20. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Avintia)* 43m 58.159s
21. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) 44m 49.966s
22. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 43m 33.704s
Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* DNF

Blue Name = Factory - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).
Black Name = Factory (with concessions) - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Applicable to Factory entries by a manufacturer that did not achieve a dry win in 2013 (only Ducati) plus any new MotoGP manufacturers.
Same 24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and extra testing opportunities as the Open Category. Fuel to be reduced to 22 litres should Ducati achieve a race win, two second places or three (dry) podiums. If Ducati claims three wins they will also lose the softer rear tyre. All other concessions confirmed until start of single ECU era in 2016.
Red Name = Open - Full control ECU system, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and greater testing opportunities relative to Factory.
* Rookie
Keep up to speed by following the new Crash.net MotoGP Twitter account