After a damp FP1, Andrea Dovizioso set the pace in a wet FP2 as weather conditions deteriorated at Le Mans.

Only Dovizioso and Scott Redding were able to improve on their morning times, when the leading riders used slick tyres in the closing stages.

CLICK HERE for the FP1 results.

The Friday rain means, should conditions improve as forecast on Saturday, only FP3 will be relevant as far as a top 10 place for direct access to Qualifying 2.

Sylvain Guintoli is returning to MotoGP, in place of injured rookie Alex Rins at Suzuki...

FP2: 1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 41.673s [Lap 18/20] 298km/h (Top Speed) 2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 41.716s +0.043s [18/19] 290km/h 3. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 41.906s +0.233s [12/17] 294km/h 4. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 41.925s +0.252s [21/21] 295km/h 5. Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 42.078s +0.405s [20/20] 295km/h 6. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 42.625s +0.952s [21/21] 297km/h 7. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 42.729s +1.056s [12/16] 288km/h 8. Maverick Vi?ales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 42.894s +1.221s [17/18] 298km/h 9. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 42.998s +1.325s [18/19] 289km/h 10. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 43.006s +1.333s [20/20] 290km/h 11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 43.177s +1.504s [16/16] 288km/h 12. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 43.250s +1.577s [19/19] 286km/h 13. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 43.340s +1.667s [9/14] 293km/h 14. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 44.177s +2.504s [21/21] 291km/h 15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m 44.276s +2.603s [12/21] 283km/h 16. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 44.572s +2.899s [12/17] 294km/h 17. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 44.678s +3.005s [21/21] 288km/h 18. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m 45.074s +3.401s [17/19] 295km/h 19. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 45.119s +3.446s [14/18] 287km/h 20. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m 45.622s +3.949s [13/13] 296km/h 21. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 45.804s +4.131s [17/17] 283km/h 22. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 47.127s +5.454s [7/9] 281km/h 23. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m 47.701s +6.028s [10/11] 278km/h

Blue Name = Rides for Factory Team. Red Name = Rides for Satellite Team.
* Rookie

CLICK HERE for live updates - CLICK HERE for pictures

Fastest FP1 time: Jack Miller AUS Honda 1m 37.467s (damp)

Official Le Mans MotoGP records: Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 31.975s (2016) Fastest race lap: Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha 1m 32.879s (2015)

By Peter McLaren

Want more? CLICK HERE for the MotoGP Homepage...