Since Indianapolis is a brand new circuit, the usual one hour Friday morning practice session was extended by an extra 30 minutes. Wild-card Ben Spies is the only rider present to have previously lapped the new Indianapolis road circuit on a MotoGP machine.

As forecast, the session took place in wet conditions.

1. Anthony West AUS Kawasaki Racing Team (B) 1min 53.034 secs
2. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini (B) 1min 53.151 secs
3. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team (B) 1min 53.190 secs
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA JiR Team Scot MotoGP (M) 1min 53.704 secs
5. John Hopkins USA Kawasaki Racing Team (B) 1min 53.715 secs
6. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 1min 53.771 secs
7. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team (M) 1min 53.850 secs
8. Nicky Hayden USA Repsol Honda Team (M) 1min 53.931 secs
9. Ben Spies USA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 1min 54.297 secs
10. Toni Elias SPA Alice Team (B) 1min 54.616 secs
11. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team (B) 1min 54.795 secs
12. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP (M) 1min 55.072 secs
13. Shinya Nakano JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini (B) 1min 55.074 secs
14. Marco Melandri ITA Ducati Marlboro Team (B) 1min 55.292 secs
15. Colin Edwards USA Tech 3 Yamaha (M) 1min 55.731 secs
16. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Alice Team (B) 1min 56.125 secs
17. James Toseland GBR Tech 3 Yamaha (M) 1min 56.271 secs
18. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 1min 56.345 secs
19. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team (B) 1min 56.851 secs

Indianapolis MotoGP test - 02/07/2008: Fastest lap: Niccolo Canepa ITA Bridgestone/Ducati Test Rider (B) 1min 43.0069secs*

* minor modifications to the track layout have been made since the test.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment