WSS: Provisional 2011 WSS grid

All the top World Supersport Championship teams have now confirmed their riders for the 2011 season...
With less than two months to go before the start of the new World Supersport season, 2011 grid numbers look set to surpass those of 2010.

A flurry of announcements in recent weeks have increased the provisional number of full-time competitors to 18 – one more than those that lined up on the grid at the Phillip Island opener in 2010.

With the top three riders from 2010 moving on in 2011 – Kenan Sofuoglu to Moto2 and Eugene Laverty and Joan Lascorz to World Superbikes -, the highest placed returnee will be Chaz Davies, who will start a second full-season with Triumph. The British manufacturer is reducing its line-up from four to two riders this year, with WSBK standout Luca Scassa joining Davies in the team.

Reigning champions Ten Kate Honda will field an all-French line-up with Fabien Foret returning to team he won the WSS title with some nine years ago. He is paired with Florian Marino, who steps up from the Superstock 600 series.

Having finished runner-up in 2009 and 2010, Parkalgar Honda are going all out to ensure they go one better this season with an expanded four-man team. Highly-rated British Supersport Champion Sam Lowes has a lot to live up to as Eugene Laverty's replacement and he is expected to be pushed hard by 2009 British Superbike runner-up James Ellison, who will race under the PTR Romania banner. Miguel Praia and Robert Muresan will act as their respective team-mates.

Following his star turn on the ZX-6R towards the end of the 2010 season, Broc Parkes returns to Supersport for a full campaign with Kawasaki, alongside David Salom, who switches from Triumph.

Elsewhere, Yamaha is set to return to the grid with privateer outfit Bike Service Racing. Having joined the series during the second-half of 2010, Bike Service will expand to two bikes by retaining Roberto Tamburini and signing 125GP ace Luca Marconi.

Having lost Foret to Ten Kate Honda, Lorenzini Kawasaki has signed Vittorio Iannuzzo, while Honda will be further represented by Alexander Lundh (Cresto Guide), Bastien Chesaux (Harms Benjan) and Ondrej Jezek (SMS).

Meanwhile, Triumph is set to get a satellite outfit in the form of Suriano Racing, which announced it plans to join the world stage towards the end of 2010. Additionally, Puccetti Kawasaki has confirmed it will compete in selected events on this year's calendar.

Teams yet to announce their plans for 2011 include Intermoto Czech, who enjoyed success with Gino Rea and Massimo Roccoli last season.

2011 Provisional World Supersport grid

Fabien Foret - Ten Kate Honda
Florian Marino - Ten Kate Honda
Sam Lowes - Parkalgar Honda
Miguel Praia - Parkalgar Honda
James Ellison - PTR Romania Honda
Robert Muresan - PTR Romania Honda
Broc Parkes - Provec Kawasaki
David Salom - Provec Kawasaki
Chaz Davies - BE1 Triumph
Luca Scassa - BE1 Triumph
Roberto Tamburini - Bike Service Yamaha
Luca Marconi - Bike Service Yamaha
Vittorio Iannuzzo - Lorenzini by Leoni Kawasaki
Alexander Lundh - Cresto Guide Honda
Bastien Chesaux - Harms Benjan Honda
Ondrej Jezek - SMS Honda
Danilo Dell'Omo - Suriano Triumph
Fabrizio Perotti - Suriano Triumph
Stefano Cruciani - Puccetti Kawasaki *
Mirko Giansanti - Puccetti Kawasaki *

* Not competing in a full season

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Davies, French WSS Race 2010
Davies, French WSS Race 2010
Davies, French WSS Race 2010
Davies, French WSS 2010
Davies, French WSS Race 2010
Kazuki Watanabe, Team Go Eleven Kawasaki, [Credit:]
Yamaha YZF-R6, EICMA show, Milan [Credit: Yamaha Motor Europe]
Yamaha YZF-R6, EICMA show, Milan [Credit: Yamaha Motor Europe]
Lukas Trautmann, Superstock 1000, Yamaha [Credit: WSBK - Toni Borner]
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kyle Smith on the Pata Honda at Phillip Island
Kieran Clarke will return to the World Supersport Championship in 2015 with PTR in the CIA Insurance Honda team
Kyle Smith - PATA Honda
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark celebrates podium finish at Phillip Island
Pata Honda`s Michael van der Mark during testing at Phillip Island
New PTR Honda signing Matt Davies
Austria`s David Linortner has joined PTR Honda for 2013 World Supersport Championship
Fabien Foret, Ten Kate Honda

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

jimmy - Unregistered

January 08, 2011 11:52 AM

Gino Real will of course continue with the Czech Intermoto Team. With factory support from Honda expect attack on the title. I would personally bet on him this year.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.