The last chance to vote for your NASCAR Driver of the Year has now passed - the final day of voting was on Thursday, December 22

Over the course of 36 races spread over nine months, the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship is without doubt one of the most gruelling overall tests of endurance in motor sports for both the teams and the drivers taking part.

Sometimes the racing on track can be overshadowed by events taking place off it: there was an early feud between Ryan Newman and Juan Montoya that was quickly eclipsed by the fiery spat between Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch. Busch then got himself in an 'altercation' with Harvick's Cup series team boss Richard Childress and subsequently tangled with Harvick's driver Ron Hornaday in the Truck Series, which led to him being parked by NASCAR for the whole of Texas as we finally found out where "the line" was in the organisers' "Boys Have At It" approach to penalties.

This year there were plenty of headlines from the races as well, starting with rookie driver Trevor Bayne's stunning win at the season-opening Daytona 500 just one day after he turned 20 years-old. And for once the Chase battle itself didn't let us down, with Jimmie Johnson never really in the running to extend his phenomenal five consecutive titles and instead having to watch on from the sidelines as the battle come down to a tie-breaker between Tony Stewart and Carl Edwards.

So did any of these drivers get your nod as Driver of the Year? This was your chance to have your say on each of the 26 drivers who scored at least one win or took one pole position during the year, including all 12 of the Chase contenders. Is Stewart a worthy winner, or should Edwards be rewarded for his season-long consistency? Was Kyle Busch still impressive despite his problems? Was Jimmie Johnson better than his final position suggests?

Voters were asked to simply rate each of the drivers out of ten. Now all the votes have been cast, we'll be providing your definitive countdown in the coming days based on the average scores.

In the meantime, you can still review the shortlist of drivers.

You can also share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below...