That's it - here's your 2013 NASCAR Driver of the Year vote in full, with the final averaged ratings for all 28 drivers:

1. Matt Kenseth (Joe Gibbs Racing) - rated 7.468
2. Jimmie Johnson (Hendrick Motorsports) - rated 6.838
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Hendrick Motorsports) - rated 6.500
4. Kurt Busch (Furniture Row Racing) - rated 6.265
5. Kevin Harvick (Richard Childress Racing) - rated 6.000
6. Carl Edwards (Roush Fenway Racing) - rated 5.940
7. Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing) - rated 5.691
8. Jeff Gordon (Hendrick Motorsports) - rated 5.543
9. Kasey Kahne (Hendrick Motorsports) - rated 5.508
10. Martin Truex Jr. (Michael Waltrip Racing) - rated 5.115

11. Mark Martin (Michael Waltrip Racing/Stewart-Haas Racing) - rated 4.983
12. Tony Stewart (Stewart-Haas Racing) - rated 4.951
13. Ryan Newman (Stewart-Haas Racing) - rated 4.951
14. Clint Bowyer (Michael Waltrip Racing) - rated 4.851
15. Joey Logano (Penske Racing) - rated 4.828
16. Greg Biffle (Roush Fenway Racing) - rated 4.809
17. Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing) - rated 4.641
18. Brad Keselowski (Penske Racing) - rated 4.639
19. Marcos Ambrose (Richard Petty Motorsports) - rated 4.548
20. Jamie McMurray (Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing) - rated 4.500

21. Trevor Bayne (Wood Brothers Racing) - rated 4.356
22. Brian Vickers (Michael Waltrip Racing) - rated 4.169
23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Roush Fenway Racing) - rated 4.000
24. David Ragan (Front Row Motorsports) - rated 3.967
25. Aric Almirola (Richard Petty Motorsports) - rated 3.797
26. AJ Allmendinger (Phoenix Racing/JTG Daugherty Racing) - rated 3.737
27. Danica Patrick (Stewart-Haas Racing) - rated 3.483
28. Juan Pablo Montoya (Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing) - rated 2.746

Many thanks for impressive number of ballots cast - we were really delighted by the level of response demontrating just how much interest and enthusiasm the community really has for NASCAR racing!

We've already summed up the top ten drivers, so you know that not even winning his sixth Sprint Cup championship was enough to fully win you over to Jimmie Johnson's side in 2013 and instead you've crowned Matt Kenseth as your choice as's NASCAR Driver of 2013. And it's a good choice - Kenseth claimed one more win than Johnson over the course of the season, and did so despite finding his feet at a new team while for Johnson it was more a case of business as usual.

Both men finish ahead of fan favourite Dale Earnhardt Jr., and then - what's this? Can it be? A Busch in the top ten? Two years ago, Kurt Busch claimed the wooden spoon as your least favourite driver but you've endorsed his comeback after being impressed with his efforts to get in the Chase with Furniture Row Racing. And that's not all - you've also put his brother Kyle into the top ten for the first time as well. Could it be that readers are finally warming to the bad boy brothers?

Long-time favourite veteran racer Mark Martin is left on the outside of the top ten in his final season of racing, finishing just ahead of Tony Stewart whose spot in the #14 he took over in August after the three-time Cup champion crocked himself in a racing accident. There's no huge ground-swell of sympathy for Stewart though, who you placed in 12th just ahead of his team mate Ryan Newman.

And look where the third Stewart-Haas driver is - Danica Patrick is not in your good books this year and ends up in 27th place out of the 28 drivers offered up for your consideration. We can't say we blame you - she's been rather anonymous this year, but then it's her rookie full-time season at Cup level and there's still time to improve in 2014.

Which is more than can be said for the driver who claims this year's wooden spoon: you're deeply underwhelmed by the efforts of Juan Pablo Montoya this season, and your judgement suggests that you're entirely on the side of Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing who have given him the push and opted to replace him with promising 21-year-old Kyle Larson next season. Montoya's heading back to IndyCar racing next season, and it remains to be seen whether that will see him back to winning ways and whether any new success in open wheel racing will win back the hearts of readers in 2014's Driver of the Year votes.

Things can change fast in 12 months, after all. This time last year, Brad Keselowski was not only Sprint Cup champion, he was also our choice as Driver of the Year. Look where he is at the end of this season, however - sunk like a stone to 18th place. Ouch. There's clearly no room for any sentimentality in NASCAR, not even when it comes to readers' votes!


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment