CLICK: Full Nationwide qualifying times from Texas

There was little doubt about who would be starting Saturday afternoon's O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge NASCAR Nationwide Series race on pole position, with Joey Logano in peerless form throughout qualifying.

It's Logano's third pole of the season and his 26th pole in 135 Nationwide races, putting him in fifth place in the all-time series pole winners list. It's the second time that he will have started from pole, the previous time being in 2010 when he went on to finish in second place, his best finish on the 1.5-mile intermediate track.

Related Articles

Logano was fastest in each of the three stages of qualifying. In round 1, he set a time of 29.060s (185.822mph) to edge out Kyle Busch by 0.120s; in the second round he improved this to 29.017s (186.098mph) with Ty Dillon his closest rival this time, just seven thousandths of a second behind; and finally he recorded his best lap of all in the final top-12 pole shoot-out round, his time of 28.880s (186.981mph) enough to pip Trevor Bayne by 0.087s.

Behind Logano and Bayne for the green flag will be Richard Childress Racing pair Austin Dillon and Brian Scott, while Logano's Penske team mate Ryan Blaney will start from fifth place alongside Joe Gibbs Racing's Kyle Busch.

Despite facing a make-or-break eight days in the Sprint Cup Chase, Kevin Harvick has opted to do double duty this weekend behind the wheel of the #5 JR Motorsports Chevrolet and will start from seventh place alongside the third RCR car driven by Ty Dillon.

In terms of the championship contenders, Harvick's team mate Regan Smith gets a slight edge over Chase Elliott with ninth place on the grid while points leader Chase Elliott starts one row behind in 11th place in the third JR Motorsports car; however, Elliott has a 42 point lead over Smith with just three races remaining in the 2014 season.

Another Sprint Cup Chase contender starts from 13th place, JGR's Matt Kenseth narrowly missing out on transferring from the second round by just 0.008s.

Although not a Chase contender this year, another Cup regular doing a double shift at short notice in qualifying was Clint Bowyer, called up to take over the wheel of the third JGR #11 car in place of Elliott Sadler, who is unwell with a stomach virus. Sadler - who announced on Friday that he had signed a deal to race for Roush Fenway Racing next season - is still expected to start the race albeit from the rear of the field because of the driver change, with Bowyer on standby to take over if necessary.

One more Cup regular will start even further back from 38th place, after the #42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevy failed to make it through technical inspection in time to make a first round qualifying run. That left Kyle Larson relying on car owner points to make the starting grid for the race.

Derrike Cope, Mike Harmon and Morgan Shepherd were all squeezed out of the race after failing to qualify for one of the 40 available starting positions.

See full Nationwide qualifying times from Texas Motor Speedway