Brad Keselowski passed Kyle Busch with eight laps remaining and went on to win the inaugural U.S. Cellular 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Iowa Speedway.

Busch had pitted for two tyres under the race's tenth caution, while Keselowski chose to keep his #88 Chevrolet on the track. The race went green on lap 219 of 250, and Busch needed six laps to pass Keselowski.

But after another caution, Keselowski stormed back to take the lead and earn his second win of the season. And with the victory, Keselowski won an extra $75,000 via Nationwide Insurance's Dash 4 Cash programme, honouring full-time Nationwide drivers who win select races, with Iowa being one of the four.

"It sure means a lot to win this race," Keselowski said. "The Dash 4 Cash programme that Nationwide has, to be the guy that wins that ... and to be a full-time Nationwide guy that wins it that doesn't run full time in the Cup series, it kind of feels like you stake a claim for the series by winning that.

"The inaugural race here at Iowa for the Nationwide Series, and, really, for NASCAR, and to win here in front of a crowd we had here today, that's pretty awesome.

"And it was a good race, too. Just everything about today, I couldn't ask for more. I couldn't ask for a better finish."

Keselowski ended up leading four times for 121 laps.

Busch finished second, matching the series record of nine for consecutive races finishing first or second.

"I wish they were all first," Busch said. "That'd certainly be nice, and then we'd have broken another record: We'd have the most wins in a single season. Man, I should be so grateful and so happy to finish second, but I am not. ... Whether it's me, the car, I have no idea. But I put all the pressure on myself to come out here and win these things, and when I don't get the job done, I feel like I let my team down."

Busch did increase his series point lead to 207 over Roush Fenway Racing's Carl Edwards, who finished fourth.

Jason Leffler finished third and Kelly Bires fifth.

Sixth through tenth were Jason Keller, Kenny Wallace, Michael McDowell, Scott Lagasse Jr. and Stephen Leicht.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment