Rally UK »

SRC: Win #2 for Faulkner

Mike Faulkner and Peter Foy kept their Scottish championship campaign well on track with outright victory in a dramatic RSAC Scottish Rally in Dumfries - the fifth round of the Hankook series.

It was their second championship triumph of the season - following a maiden SRC win on the Granite City in April - and more than made up for the disappointment of a non-finish on last month's Jim Clark Reivers.

Faulkner powered his Mitsubishi Evo 6 through the classic Dumfries and Galloway stages to finish 13 seconds ahead of former British Junior champion Wayne Sisson in an Evo 9, with Stephen Whitford from Ireland third overall in an Evo 6 - both of whom were not eligible for championship points.

Euan Thorburn and Campbell Roy were second home of the SRC crews, and also took GpN honours, in their Subaru Impreza.

Jock Armstrong and Kirsty Riddick of Castle Douglas secured the final SRC podium spot in their Impreza N11 and extended their championship lead.

In the drivers' standings, Armstrong now has 131 points, with Faulkner second on 103. There is a similar margin between Riddick and Foy in the co-drivers' championship.

David Bogie of Dumfries remains third in the drivers' table on 101 points, despite crashing out in his Evo 9 on the fourth stage, after 'wheel sensor' problems earlier in the day.

Faulkner and Foy set a blistering pace from the start and were fastest through SS1 Kinharvie by two seconds from Willie Bonniwell and Neil Ewing in their Subaru Impreza.

They still had their noses in front after the short Heathhall spectator stage, but only by one second from a hard-charging Bonniwell.

However, on the 6-mile Castle O'er stage, the Oban driver picked up a puncture, and Faulkner lost around 20 seconds when he got caught behind the slower car.

Tagged as: Hankook

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mike Faulkner / Peter Foy - Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6. RSAC Scottish Rally winners. June 2009 [Pic credit: LindsayPhotoSport]
Shaun Sinclair / Chris Hamill. Hankook MSA Scottish Rally Championship round two winners. [Pic credit: LindsayPhotoSport]
Hankook Junior Prize Drive winner John MacCrone,  with, from left to right, Andy Kelly of the SRC; Hankook Motorsports Manager Mike Patterson, and, on the far right, outgoing SRC chairman Campbell Roy.
Jock Armstrong / Kirsty Riddick. Subaru Impreza. Merrick Forest Stages - the penultimate round of the 2009 Hankook MSA Scottish Rally Championship [Pic credit: LindsayPhotoSport]
Mike Patterson, Motorsport Manager, Hankook and rally legend Jimmy McRae [Pic credit: Hankook]
Julian Reynolds. Hankook Subaru. Swansea Bay Rally. July 2008.
Elfyn Evans in the Hankook Fiesta. Wales Rally GB 2007. [PIC CREDIT: cmwi.net]
Elfyn Evans in action in the Hankook Fiesta
Elfyn Evans with Hankook motorsports manager Mike Patterson
Hankook MSA Gravel Rally Championship logo
2006 ANCRO junior champion, Wyn Humphries in action in his Hankook tyres-shod car [Pic supplied by Hankook]
David Higgins in action with Hankook on the Lurgan Park Rally
Hankook rally ace Gwyndaf Evans switches to the race track with the Volkswagen Racing Cup
David Higgins / Ieuan Thomas - Hankook Subaru WRC [Pic credit: cmwi.net]
Craig Parry
Stuart Jones in action in the Hankook Mitsubishi
Stuart Jones and Craig Parry in action on Rallye Catalunya in the SJR Hankook Evo IX [Pic credit: cmwi.net]
Stuart Jones

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.