RR »

TT2010 Race Programme confirmed

Following the 2009 TT, when all of the solo race records were broken and a new outright lap record was also set, the Isle of Man Department of Tourism and Leisure has announced that the main race programme will remain unchanged for 2010.
The Isle of Man Department of Tourism and Leisure has announced that the main race programme will remain unchanged for 2010. However, the Billown TT Races will no longer form part of the TT Race programme as the race organisers have decided to concentrate resources on the core mountain circuit races in 2010.

Visitors to the 2009 TT Races were treated to the fastest laps in history, the visit of MotoGP star Valentino Rossi as well as witnessing the first TT win for the latest member of the Dunlop dynasty, 21-year-old Michael Dunlop.
As in 2008, nine different riders featured on the podium in 2009.

John McGuinness confirmed his position as one of the greatest TT riders of all time by moving to outright second place in the winners list with 15 TT victories, behind only Joey Dunlop's 26 wins, surpassing Mike Hailwood, while Dave Molyneux moved further ahead at the top of the all time sidecar list, extending his victories to 14, four ahead of Rob Fisher.

In 2010, Practice Week starts with a free practice session on Saturday 29th May 2010 and runs until Friday 4th June.
Race Week begins with the Superbike and first Sidecar Race on Saturday June 5th. Monday 7th will see the Superstock and first Supersport Race classes, which saw some of the closest racing in 2009. The second Supersport and Sidecar Races are scheduled for Wednesday 9th June with Race Week culminating in the blue riband Senior TT on Friday 11th June.

After the debut of TTXGP in 2009, plans are also being developed for another zero carbon emissions race on the Isle of Man in 2010, and the slot has been provisionally scheduled for Wednesday June 9th following the Supersport and Superstock TT Races.

Classic racing motorcycles will make a return to the TT in 2010 with the Suzuki 50th Anniversary Lap of Honour and the TT Classic Parade scheduled for the morning of Senior Race Day.
Both events will feature racing machines manufactured before 1998 with capacity for a total of 200 entries across both events.

Isle of Man Tourism and Leisure Minister Martyn Quayle said:
"We are operating in a tough financial climate and have therefore decided to concentrate our resources on the core race programme that is proving so popular with fans. We are again delivering a thrilling racing experience, with many fans and media commenting that the TT Races are now as strong and exciting as they have been in living memory. We believe that with the return of the classic parades that there is now something for all motorcycle enthusiasts."

2010 TT Schedule
Free practice will be on Saturday 29th May 2010. Qualifying runs from Monday 31st May to Friday 4th June 2010.

The race calendar is as follows:

Saturday 5th June 2010
Superbike TT Race
Sidecar TT Race 1
Monday 7th June 2010
Royal London 360 Superstock TT Race
Supersport Junior TT Race 1
Wednesday 9th June 2010
Supersport Junior TT Race 2
Sidecar TT Race 2
Clean Emissions Race (1 Lap)
Friday 11th June 2010
Suzuki 50th Anniversary Lap of Honour
TT Classic Parade
Senior TT Race

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Outright TT lap record holder John McGuinness in action during the 2009 TT
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.