RR »

Ryan Farquhar recognised at star-studded event

Road racing star Ryan Farquhar has been presented with the prestigious Geoff Duke Trophy for winning the Duke Road Race Rankings for a record-breaking fourth time
The star of 2009, Ryan Farquhar, was one of the big winners at the Adelaide Racer Awards.

The Dungannon man topped the road race rankings with a massive haul of points during a staggering 2009 season.

He secured 61 race victories, took six National Championships and shattered the long-standing national race win record of legend Joey Dunlop.

The Duke Road Race Rankings is the only award based on performances at road race events throughout the year, with riders accumulating points in 25 international and national events, including the Isle of Man TT, North West 200 and Ulster Grand Prix.

Farquhar's amazing year – which included 18 victories at a single meeting – saw him finish well ahead of the rest of the field.

Peter Duke, managing director of Duke, was on-hand to present the trophy to the 33-year-old in front of a star-studded, 500-strong audience at the annual ceremony.

The ceremony, held in Belfast, also saw Farquhar named National Road Racer of the Year and his KMR Kawasaki team heralded as Team of the Year.

Farquhar beat competition from Keith Amor, John Burrows, Michael Pearson, Michael and William Dunlop to take the National title, while his team was selected ahead of CD Racing, Relentless Suzuki, Street Sweep Racing, McAdoo and Wilson Craig Racing.

Among the stars at the black tie occasion were many past and present greats from the world of motorcycle racing, such as Grand Prix legend Loris Capirossi, 15-time TT winner John McGuinness, World Supersport Champion Cal Crutchlow and runner-up Eugene Laverty, British Supersport Champion and 2009 Senior TT winner Steve Plater, World Superbike race winner Jonathan Rea and many more.

Farquhar was beaten to the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year title by Laverty and Rea, who finished first and second respectively.

“2009 really was a fantastic year for me,” he said, “and to have my achievements recognised in front of so many people is a real honour.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2009 Duke Road Race Rankings winner Ryan Farquhar (right) receives the Geoff Duke Trophy from Peter Duke (Stephen Davison/Pacemaker Press International)
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.