RR »

Awards ceremony recognises racing success

The cream of road racing talent was celebrated at the prestigious Adelaide Racer Awards in Belfast
The 2010 Adelaide Racer Awards have brought together many of the biggest names in motorcycle sport.

The annual awards ceremony is one of the biggest off-track events on the motorcycle racing calendar, with a star-studded audience of 500 attending the black tie event in Belfast on Friday night.

Among the racing greats in attendance were many stars of road racing, Grand Prix, World Superbikes, World Supersport, British short-circuit racing and more.

The evening's big winner was Ryan Farquhar, who had a staggering season. The two-time TT winner took an amazing 61 race victories, secured six National Championships and broke Joey Dunlop's long-standing record of 119 National race wins.

At the ceremony the 33-year-old picked up National Road Racer of the Year – beating competition from Keith Amor, John Burrows, Michael Pearson, Michael and William Dunlop – and his team, KMR Kawasaki, was named Team of the Year.

The Dugannon man was also presented with the Geoff Duke Trophy as winner of the 2009 Duke Road Race Rankings.

It didn't all go Farquhar's way, however; he missed out on International Road Racer of the Year and the evening's top award, the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year.

International Road Racer of the Year went to Steve Plater, who won the 2009 Senior TT and British Supersport title, with Ian Hutchinson – who won two TT races in the same day in 2009 – second and 2009 Senior TT podium finisher Conor Cummins, the fastest Manxman around the Mountain course, in third. The Dunlop brothers and 15-time TT winner John McGuinness were also shortlisted.

In the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year category the award when to World Supersport runner-up Eugene Laverty, World Superbike race-winner Jonathan Rea was second and Farquhar third. Michael Dunlop, Ian Lowry and Alastair Seeley and Farquhar were also shortlisted.

Laverty also took the Short-Circuit Rider award, ahead of Rea and Seeley, while Lowry received the Short Circuit Merit award. Two-time Formula Two World Champion Brian Reid presented the Fans' Race of the Year award to Rea for his stunning race-winning performance at the Assen round of the 2009 World Superbike season.

World Supersport Champion Cal Crutchlow was handed the International Rider award by football legend Keith Gillespie, while former Team Roberts rider Gary Cowan was inducted into the Bridgestone Hall of Fame, with the announcement made by eleven-time TT winner Phillip McCallen and Grand Prix star Jeremy McWilliams.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
MotoGP star Loris Capirossi was guest of honour at the 2010 Adelaide Racer Awards
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.